Kaiser Half Week 7 – Race Week!

My goal for this mini-taper week was to cut down on the weekday mileage, but keep up the intensity.  Here’s how that went down:

Tues: 2 x race pace miles (9:09) + stairs.
Warm-up, followed by 2 miles at 9:01 and 9:07, 6 x Cleveland Cascade, cool-down.
I focused on running by feel and making sure my effort level was at a comfortably hard pace.  Good, confidence-building run!
4 miles @ 10:09/mile + 6x Cleveland Cascade

Thurs: Timed mile.
It’s been 4 weeks since my last timed mile, so I decided to hit the track and try it again.  I knew it was going to be a battle because my warm-up was a lot slower than usual.  My first lap was too slow, and I didn’t really get into the groove until the 2nd half of the mile.  My time was 7:46, 2 seconds slower than last time.  Of course I would’ve liked to run faster than my previous time, but I was okay with 7:46 too.  Other notes – the highlight of my run was running into Roserunner at the track.  Low-light: having an off-leash puppy jump on my bare legs and scratch me with his paws.  Unfortunately, the owner was nowhere in sight, so I didn’t get to give him/her a piece of my mind.  Grrr.
3 miles @ 9:34/mile

Fri: Easy run with strides (x5).
Nothing notable – just a solid, nice run.
3.7 miles @ 10:01/mile

Sun: Kaiser Permanente SF Half Marathon!
Unofficial stats: 1:58:51, 123/319 AG, 704/2163 F, 2051/4355 overall.
Garmin stats: 1:58:56 for 13.2 miles @ 9:00/mile
Recap coming soon!
14.5 miles (13.2 + 1.3 miles jog to start) 

Total mileage for the week: 25.2
Besides some upper body soreness leftover from last week’s yoga session, this was a great week, with the highlight being today’s sub-2 hour performance.  I’m still basking in the glory of accomplishing a long-time goal, but I can’t rest on my laurels for too long — Oakland Marathon is just 7 weeks away!!

Plan for the coming week:
Mon:  Rest.
Tues:  5 miles easy w/ strides + stairs
Wed:  6 miles w/elevation.
Thurs:  Yoga.
Fri:  Rest.
Sat:  San Bruno trail run with Cathryn.
Sun:  6 miles trail

Random photo of the week:

Just maxin' & chillaxin'

What are YOU lookin’ at?

About

Howdy! I'm a 30-something recovering former academic living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Training
8 comments on “Kaiser Half Week 7 – Race Week!
  1. outside time says:

    Congrats on breaking 2 hours!! I’m so excited for you!

  2. Hillary says:

    SUB-TWO!!!! I hope you had two subs to celebrate. Or, you know, 1 full sub and like all but a few bites of the second. Congrats – such an exciting item to cross off of the list!

  3. Cathryn says:

    Just brilliant stuff. So chuffed for you.

  4. Congrats on the 1/2! Bummer about the off-leash dog. I hate it when people do that. :(

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Jan! As for the dog, I’m just glad that it wasn’t more serious. My friend was knocked over once by huge dog on a retractable leash!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

running apps
On the docket…

1/18/15 - Foster City 10-miler
2/1/15 - Kaiser Permanente SF Half Marathon
3/22/15 - Oakland Marathon Relay
5/17/15 - Bay to Breakers

Archives
Categories
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers

