Goals: April 2012

I’ve never been particularly good at setting running goals, especially without a race, but I do have some general goals that I want to attain. So I thought I’d write them down for my edification and also for your information (and to keep me accountable!). Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. Maintain a weekly base mileage of 15-20 miles. Ideally, I’d like to do one short speed workout (3-4 miles), a medium length tempo-ish run (6-7 miles), and a long run on the weekend (9+ miles, depending on elevations changes, etc.). The purpose of this is to maintain the training that I did for my half marathon.
  2. Get faster. For speed workouts, I’ve been running 4×3-minute intervals around the lake (run fast for 3 minutes, recover for 3, repeat). My goal is to keep getting faster during the fast phase, down to 8:00/mile pace for all 4 repeats.
  3. Do more cross-training. I’ve was pretty lazy during my half marathon training when it came to cross-training and stretching (see below). I just started doing P90X “Ab Ripper” workouts once a week. I’d also like to work on my plyometrics (jumping) and core strengthening exercises.
  4. Stretch more. I’ve developed a weird pain in my right hip flexor if I sit in “Indian style” (is that PC??) for a while, then attempt to strain my leg. Since I’ve consistently had hip flexor tightness, I’m hoping that focusing on stretching will improve the situation.
  5. Get better at running hills. I’ve been running around Lake Merritt for months. While it is scenic and a convenient 3 miles in circumference, it is also very flat. As a result, whenever I see a hill, I totally freak out. I need to stop doing that. More training on hills will hopefully make me less of a wuss when it comes to inclines.
  6. Establish a new PR at the LMJS 4th Sunday 10K on 4/22. As I compiled my race results, I realized that I set my 10K PR back in 2003. I’m about due for a better time!
About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Goals
2 comments on “Goals: April 2012
  1. Suzanne says:

    FYI – if you visit Pittsburgh, I promise to take you to some really scary hills that rival SF in steepness and length! Of course, this wouldn’t be a regular training location…

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 2 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
