Training: Week of 4/9/12

Welcome to the first installment of my weekly training wrap-up! I know this might not sound particularly exciting, but I’ll try to spice it up every now and again with photos or stories. Also, I just joined dailymile, so feel free to friend me there if you just can’t get enough of my training!

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Was going to run but wimped out due to impending rain. Did the 90X Ab Ripper in the evening as a consolation prize.

Wed: 3:00 intervals around Lake Merritt. Fast interval speeds at 9:04, 8:26, 8:20, and 9:01 (mile pace). Still a ways from my goal of 8:00, but it’s an improvement compared to the week before (9:02, 8:46, 8:48, 9:17).
Stats: 3.56 miles/35:48/10:03 pace

Thurs: Rest.

Fri: Wimped out again due to thunderstorms. Rest.

Sat: Went for a quick run with the Gypsy Runner. I wanted to run at a slightly faster pace than usual, but didn’t want to push it too hard since I knew I wanted to go for a long run on Sunday.
Stats: 2.91 miles/27:56/9:36 pace.
Sidenote: I was in disbelief at how my body reacts during training vs. during a race. I had a hard time maintaining 9:30 yesterday for less than 3 miles, so it’s unbelievable to me how I did that for 13.25 a few weeks ago! Amazing what adrenaline and your brain can do.

Sun: I went to Berkeley to listen to IP’s practice job talk (good luck IP!), so I thought I’d do my long run in Tilden Regional Park. I decided on Nimitz Way since it’s part of the Tilden Tough Ten, a race I’m considering, so I thought it’d be nice to check out the course. And what a lovely course it was! Nice rolling hills, beautiful views, and cows grazing all around. The only downside was that it’s entirely covered in asphalt, but otherwise I quite enjoyed my run! I did slow down quite a bit in the second half (about 30 seconds slower per mile), but the good news is that I ran the whole way, even the hills! OK, that’s not completely true — I stopped a couple of times to take photos of the gorgeous scenery. 🙂
Stats: 8.2 miles/1:26:37/10:34 pace/506 feet elevation gain

View from Nimitz Way -- San Pablo Reservoir in the distance.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 14.67 miles.
How I feel about it: I enjoyed all of my runs this week, though I could’ve logged a few more miles. B+

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Training

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 3 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
