Weekly training recap: 4/23/12

With a new 10K PR in hand, my next goal is to train for 3 trail races (10K, 10 miler, and half marathon — eek!)… meaning more emphasis on mileage and hills and less on short interval speed training.

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Stomach problems + hills + 1st post-race run = slow slog. Ran a new route through part of the Oakland Hills though, which was exciting. Oh, and I saw ducklings at the Lake with their mama duck. Cute!
Stats: 5.53 miles/ 57:14/ 10:21 pace/ 440 ft elevation gain

Wed: Rest.

Thurs: 4×1 mile repeats. Mile times: 9:00, 8:55, 8:58, 9:12. Average for 4 miles: 9:01 (vs last week: 9:20 for 3 repeats). Needless to say, I felt very good about this run. Looks like I may be able to set a new 5K PR soon!
Stats: 6.07 miles/ 58:08 / 9:34 pace

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Long run with the Gypsy Runner. We went to try out the course for the Tilden Tough Ten — the same route that I ran 2 weeks ago. We meant to run all 10 miles, but it was a hot day and we got a little lost, so we cut the run short. Not to make any excuses, but the stats below don’t really reflect that I ran this route faster than last time, if you take out the 0.4 miles where we were wandering around lost on rough trails before we decided to turn around.
Update: I forgot to mention that I didn’t look at my Garmin for most of the run, which was one of my goals. I’m trying to not be so dependent on it… and will probably blog about technology and running in another post. Stay tuned!
Stats: 8.05 miles/ 1:26:26 / 10:44 pace (10:23 min/mile, minus the slow bit)/ 669 ft elevation gain

Sun: was gonna rest, but ended up with an impromptu hill “workout” going up to my friend KD’s house in San Francisco, who lives at the top of one of the city’s many hills. The picture below doesn’t really do it justice. I was dripping in sweat by the time I got to her apartment!

After this hill, there was a set of stairs followed by more hills!

On the way home, I took a moment to enjoy the view:

Gorgeous spring day in San Francisco!

WEEKLY TOTAL: 19.65 miles.
How I feel about it: Kind of a mixed bag this week. Also, I didn’t do any ab work. Boo. But my mileage is up, so… I’d give this week a B.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Training
2 comments on “Weekly training recap: 4/23/12
  1. aewills says:

    Oh my gosh that hill is no joke! Probably worth it for the view though. A few more like that and Lake Chabot will be a breeze!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
