Weekly training recap: 4/30/12

This has been a rough week training-wise. I’ll explain towards the end of the post.

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Lake Merritt plus Oakland hills. This was the same route I ran the week before, only this time, I didn’t quit halfway through! I also discovered that my Garmin’s altitude readings are kinda wonky, so I’m not really trusting those stats anymore.
Stats: 6.53 miles/ 1:10:34/ 10:49 pace

Wed: Rest.

Thurs: Lake Merritt plus hill repeats. There is a road off of the Lake that has a slight incline. It’s just steep enough where I get fatigued by the time I sprint to the top, so I figure that’s a good start. I did 4 repeats. I felt like I could’ve done more, but wanted to save my legs for the 2 miles I still had to run back to my apartment. Turned out to be a good idea — my legs were pretty tired by the end of the run.
Stats: 4.32 miles/ 45:33/ 10:32 pace

Fri: Rest.

Sat: I went out for 10 miles/3 laps around the Lake, but ended up coming back after 1 lap. I was NOT feeling it at all. My legs were heavy from the start and I never got into a good rhythm. Sometimes I feel sluggish at the beginning of a run, but by mile 3 I usually start feeling better. This did not happen on Saturday. Plus, I had been reading about signs of overtraining, which include:

  • Heavy legs (check)
  • Increased pulse rate (maybe; didn’t measure)
  • Sleep problems (nope)
  • Diminished sex drive (TMI!!)
  • Fear of training/trouble motivating yourself to get out the door (check)
  • Sore muscles (check)

So instead of pressing on like a good soldier, I decided to quit while I was only 2 blocks from my apartment. I also decided to take the next 3 days off from running. As I walked in the door, the Gypsy Runner was surprised that I had done my 9-10 mile run in such a short amount of time. (Ha, I wish!) Then I told him I quit after one lap after feeling the symptoms of overtraining. He revealed that he already had the sense that I should’ve taken a rest day instead of going for a run. Ah, the Gypsy Runner… so wise! Oh well, I’m glad I listened to my body. My legs are already feeling 10x better.
Stats: 3.81 miles/ 40:20/ 10:35 pace

Sun: P90X Ab Ripper.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 14.66 miles.
How I feel about it: Well, obviously I don’t feel great about being on the cusp of overtraining, but I’m glad I caught it when I did. C+

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Training
One comment on “Weekly training recap: 4/30/12
  1. […] the symptoms, especially heavy legs and general lack of motivation going into a workout (see JYL’s post for a full list of overtraining […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
