Weekly training recap: 5/7/12

Took it easy this week after experiencing symptoms of overtraining the week before.

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Once around Lake Merritt at a moderate pace. Wasn’t my best run, but it was so much better than the run on Saturday that I was grateful for it.
Stats: 3.6 miles @ 9:41/mile

Wed: Rest. But I did bike 2-3 miles and lug my bike up and down BART steps. Does that count? 😉

Thurs: Pre-race gentle run. Short lap around Lake Merritt.
Stats: 3.0 miles @ 10:08/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Cinderella 10K. Took a tumble. A few scrapes and bruises and felt a twinge in my left ankle, but no serious injuries at first glance. Since the race, I’ve had heel pain/tenderness in my left foot that has not gone away… which, after a bit of internet research, makes me think I might have plantar fasciitis. UGH. So I’ve been resting since Saturday, and I’ll probably hold off tomorrow’s run until Wednesday. I wasn’t planning on running too much this week anyway, with the Tilden Tough Ten approaching on Sunday (5/20).
Stats: 6.3 miles @ 13:20/mile

Sun: Rest. Lots of post-race indulging at a 4 year old’s birthday party and a mother’s day celebration with the Gypsy Runner’s family. 🙂

WEEKLY TOTAL: 12.9 miles.
How I feel about it: The gentle, short runs were good. And despite the humbling experience at the Cinderella 10K and possible injury, I’d say it was a decent week. B.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Training
2 comments on “Weekly training recap: 5/7/12
  1. Laura says:

    Looks like a good week! 🙂 I hope your foot improves- maybe some cross-training this week in lieu of running to give it a rest???

    • Jen says:

      That’s a good suggestion, but unfortunately I don’t belong to a gym right now so my cross-training options are limited. My foot is already feeling a lot better from earlier today, so I’m hopeful that everything will be 100% soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
