Thumbs down

My newest accessory.

Health update:
As some of you might know, I injured my thumb when I fell at the Cinderella 10K last month. I initially self-diagnosed it as a jammed thumb, but it eventually became more troublesome. It certainly didn’t help that I carried a handheld water bottle for almost 3 hours at the Lake Chabot Trail Challenge. What was initially only slightly irritating and tender became a constant source of pain. I knew it was time to go to the doctor when it was interfering with my sleep. Nothing gets my goat worse than a bad night’s sleep!

So on Wednesday, I finally made an appointment. It was my very first visit to Kaiser, on my independently-purchased health care plan. Everything went really smoothly — I was super impressed with how happy everyone seemed, from my doctor (the young, hip Dr. H), to the radiology tech, to the nice man who fit my thumb splint. On the downside, I was met with $85 in co-pays, not to mention $17 for splint. I’d hate to imagine how much it would’ve cost without insurance.

The good news was that my thumb wasn’t broken, just badly sprained. Dr. H recommended that I wear a thumb splint from 12-24 hours per day (i.e., as much as possible) for the next 2-4 weeks. I’m hoping to be free of it by the time I go to Taiwan in mid-July. Even though I’ve only had the splint for 3 days, I already feel significantly better. Another reason it’s been good is that it reminds me not to do things like high-fives and shake hands…which are harder to avoid than you might think.

One of the most difficult things for me to do right now is typing. So, I wanted to forewarn y’all that my posts for the next several weeks might be less loquacious/more sporadic. Thanks in advance for your understanding!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Injuries, random
3 comments on “Thumbs down
  1. Tammy says:

    Darn! I hate injuries. Hope you heal quickly.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
