The Best Laid Plans/Now What?

You might be confused by the weird title. That’s because I wanted to write two mini-posts that are only similar in that they will be full of rambling, random thoughts. Think of it as a two-for-one deal.

The Best Laid Plans

I made a recent discovery that there’s a track 1/2 mile away from my apartment, thanks to Google Maps. Yay technology! I’ve been wanting to do a timed mile and/or track workout for months, but was discouraged by the thought that the nearest track was up at Piedmont High, 2 miles up the hill. Anyway, so my plan was to run to the track this morning and check it out. I was very excited! Unfortunately, several obstacles got in my way:

1. My cat Sasha. As I was slipping into bed at midnight (already later than I had planned), I came across a “special surprise” that Sasha left at the foot of the bed, between the blanket and the sheets. UGH. It was disgusting!!! I tore off the sheets, slipped the duvet cover off, and Oxicleaned everything. It was too late to do laundry, so I grabbed an extra blanket and slept on the mattress cover.

2. Dinner last night. My friend made an amazing meal; however, it hit me with the WORST indigestion at 1:00 a.m. I was up with heartburn for a good 30 minutes.

So, I guess that track workout will have to wait. I haven’t run a timed mile since last summer, when my time was 8:00 flat. I’m curious to see how much (if any) progress I’ve made since then. Any guesses?

Now What?

You might have noticed that I’ve been racing A LOT recently — basically, I’ve run a race every 2 weeks for the last 8 weeks. My streak has recently come to an end. While I’m looking forward to taking a break, I’m also already getting antsy about racing again. Part of the scheduling issue is that the Gypsy Runner and I will be in Taiwan for 3 weeks from mid-July to early August. That would put my next race in early September (Drag-N-Fly), or possibly late August (LMJS Time is on Your Side). Those are 2+ months from now and seem so far away! So… I looked far and wide to find a race to run before our trip, and we’ve decided to run the 5-mile Golden Gate Trail Run at Rodeo Beach. I’m looking forward to new scenery and (hopefully) finishing farther up in the pack than in the East Bay Triple Crown series.

What about you? Any exciting summer races planned?

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in random
8 comments on “The Best Laid Plans/Now What?
  1. RoseRunner says:

    where is this track!? Is it at the Laney college!? I don’t know why it never occurred to me until now that there might be a track over there. Is the track open to the public in the morning?

    I think you will run…a…7:51 timed mile. 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Yes, you’re right! It’s at Laney College. Don’t know yet about when it’s open, but I’ll let you know (or you let me know if you beat me to it).

  2. Dominick S. says:

    I think you can beat your mile time, I say 7:45! Have fun on your vacation!

  3. Jen says:

    Update: So, I ended up running at the track after all yesterday evening. Both RoseRunner and Dominick were very close about my mile time. Any other guesses? I’ll post the answer on Sunday.

  4. MR DETERMINED says:

    I’m thinking about signing up for a Color Me Rad race to do while on vacation this year. It’s one of my dream races to do. 🙂 Anything colourful and 80’s like has to be fun.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
  • I love my sisters. They give me their honest opinions with my best interest at heart - even if it's not always the "nicest" thing. 2 hours ago
  • @emmyjane1 For me it was the grandma and whenever she did anything brave 😭 9 hours ago
  • @reallyhillary Yeah, I think I will run in my neighborhood instead of driving somewhere. Maybe run/walk if I'm not feeling great. Thanks! 1 day ago
  • I'm sick (feeling ok but congested). Should I: 1 day ago
  • RT @IjeomaOluo: Y'all. I've never tweeted anything else where so many dudes clamored up to be exhibit a https://t.co/fJGtzkRrRY 2 days ago
Archives
Categories
