Weekly training recap: 6/18/12

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Slow jog; recovering from Woodminster.
Stats: 3 miles @ 10:32/mile

Speaking of Woodminster, here are some funny photos of me “running,” courtesy of East Bay Triple Crown:

Here I am, coming down the hill…

Yep, still “running”…

Hm, am I actually moving?

So relieved that I made it to the bottom in one piece!

Wed: Rest.

Thurs: Was going to do a track workout in the morning, but that didn’t pan out. However, I managed to get to the Castro Valley High track in the evening. It was the first time I’ve hit the track in almost a year… I was definitely a bit rusty! Here’s what I did:
– Warmup 400 m
– Timed-mile, 1st attempt: went out way too fast in the first 400 m @1:40 (6:47/mile), so had to reset and start over.
– Timed-mile, 2nd attempt: this time, I had BD to pace me. He was cooling down with 8 minute miles, which was my target (actually, I wanted to go sub-8), so it worked out well. We were averaging 2:01 per 400 m, and BD kept me at that pace until the last 50 m, when he told me to sprint. Time: 7:53. I definitely felt like I could’ve done better had it not been for the false start/too speedy first attempt, but it’s a new personal best for me, so I’ll take it!
– Cool down 800 m
Stats: 2 miles

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Didn’t get much sleep, but I wanted to get a run in before heading out to an overnight/camping event at our CSA. I wasn’t expecting much from the run, so I ate a donut for breakfast — something I’d never do normally. It turned out to be a nice run and I felt pretty good! Maybe donuts should become my official pre-race fuel. 😉
Stats: 3.3 miles @ 9:32/mile

Sun: Rest.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 8.3 miles.
How I feel about it: On one hand, this is the lowest mileage week (and the first time I’ve dipped below 10 miles) since the week after the Oakland Half Marathon. On the other hand, I finally got myself to the track to run a timed mile, where I ran my first sub-8-minute mile. B-

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Training
4 comments on “Weekly training recap: 6/18/12
  1. Roserunner says:

    I knew you’d get a sub eight min mile! Nice!

  2. […] time I couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t run faster than my fastest timed mile of 7:53 (from >17 months ago!) for ONE stinkin’ minute.  So, from now on, I will focus on […]

  3. […] goals is to run a timed mile once a month (at least), so this was my first stab at it.  The last time I ran a timed mile was a year and a half ago, which I ran in 7:53, so I was hoping to better that.  I warmed-up for […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

9/17/17 – Alameda Half Marathon
10/1/17 – Tiburon Half (2:20 pacer)

Archives
Categories
