Weekly training recap: 6/25/12

Mon: Went to scout out the Laney Track, as it’s only 1/2 mile away from my apartment. I couldn’t find any information about it online, though I did see somewhere that it was open from 8am-6pm. I came home from work, scurried down there by 5:30, ran past a bunch of locked gates, and got to the very end to see one small open gate. Score! Unfortunately, once I got on the track, I was informed by a gentleman in the bleachers (the track coach?) that he was about to close the track in 5 minutes. D’oh! PSA #1: Laney Track is not open to the public, as far as I can tell. Dejected, I headed back to the Lake and completed my run in a rather aimless fashion.
Stats: 4.5 miles @ 10:13/mile

Tues: Rest.

Wed: Oakland Hills. Mandana sure is tough at the top.
Stats: 6.3 miles @ 10:38/mile

Thurs:  Rest.

Fri: Fartlek-ish run around the Lake.
Stats: 3.2 miles @ 9:40/mile

Sat: 5 mile walk with the Gypsy Runner to check out the Mountain View Cemetery. Cool place, if a bit creepy. We didn’t explore the grounds that much, but we both thought it’d make a nice run.

Sun: Light hiking with the Gypsy Runner, AEW, and JG to forage for wild berries at Redwood Regional. Afterward, the Gypsy Runner and I embarked on what was supposed to be a 6.2 mile, relatively easy loop (East Ridge –> Canyon –> Stream –> back to Skyline Gate). We got to Canyon and saw that it was blocked off and appeared to be overgrown, so our loop became an out and back, which meant serious hills on the way back — approximately 470 elevation gain, according to my Garmin. PSA #2: Canyon Trail in Redwood Regional appears to be closed. (UPDATE April 2013: j/k. It turns out we didn’t go far enough down East Ridge.) The good news is that I never walked once during the hills, which is a HUGE improvement over the last time we ran this trail in mid-March. Yay!
Stats: 4.75 miles @ 11:04/mile

A foggy, chilly day on the East Ridge Trail. Those little white dots are goats, who were brought in to graze on the grass.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 18.75 miles running + 5-7 miles walking.
How I feel about it: Nothing too speedy about this week, but I’m satisfied with the mileage and about being less of a sissy when it comes to hills. A-

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
4 comments on “Weekly training recap: 6/25/12
  1. aewills says:

    Ack–I’m sorry your loop turned out to be a tough out-and-back! But great work on the hills!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks!
      Actually, if we had done the loop, I think we would’ve had to climb about the same amount, but it’d be condensed into the last 1/2-3/4 mile… which I could probably justify walking at the end of 6 miles. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the info about Laney’s track. It can be hard sometimes to figure out if/when tracks are open. Guess I’ll stick with Piedmont, even if it is a bit of a pain to get to.

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, I wish there was more info about tracks posted online — where they are, their hours, etc. Until then, we’ll just have to rely on word of mouth for useful info.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

9/17/17 – Alameda Half Marathon
10/1/17 – Tiburon Half (2:20 pacer)

Archives
Categories
