Weekly training recap: CIM Week 1 (woot woot!)

I’m baaaaaaack!!! Did y’all miss me? I know, inquiring minds want to know: did I do any running while I was in Taiwan? The answer is: yes. I ran twice, about 1.5-2 miles each time and I was slow as molasses. I also climbed a lot of stairs (both hiking and at the metro) in order to ensure that my leg muscles wouldn’t atrophy after weeks of non-use. But honestly, it was so darn hot and humid most of the time, and there were so few enticing places to run that I lacked the motivation. Once, we ran in the (light) rain and I could not tell the difference between the rain and my sweat. I was drenched. Never will I complain about Bay Area running weather ever again!!

We got back Monday and let’s just say… 3 weeks off from running makes a world of difference. My cardio base is way off from where it was. Not very surprising, given that I didn’t really exercise and that I basically carb loaded for 3 whole weeks. Well, there’s no time like the present to get in shape girl! Not to mention that there’s a marathon that I need to train for, STAT.

Before I go on, a few words about my marathon training plan. I’m basing it on Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 plan. My blogosphere pal Dominick has been training for his first marathon with it, so I decided to check it out. I like that it’s fairly low mileage and includes one day of cross training. I’m basically following the plan, with a few exceptions:

1. Long run on Sunday instead of Saturday.
2. I plan on doing 2x 20+ mile runs (run + walk), with the highest mileage at 25 miles. I know that might sound crazy, but I feel it’s best for me (and my confidence) to cover more than 20 miles a couple of times before the race.
3. Two days of cross training instead of one. Cross training will help me with strengthening, injury prevention, and (hopefully) preventing burnout. Two days of cross training will allow me to focus one day on cardio (elliptical, spinning, swimming) and another day on toning and stretching (yoga, pilates).

Without further ado, CIM training week 1!

Mon: Back in the USA! Rest, obviously.

Tues: Return to Lake Merritt. Given how strenuous this felt, I thought it should have been a faster pace. Oh well, gotta start somewhere!
Stats: 3.3 miles @ 9:44/mile

Wed: Rest.

Thurs:  Return to Tilden with the Gypsy Runner. We were both craving Berkeley Bagels, so we decided to make an unusual weekday morning trek to Berkeley. It was so worth it! Also I love this loop: Meadows Canyon + Curran + Wildcat Gorge trails.
Stats: 2.9 miles @ 11:36/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Joined the local YMCA to start my cross training regimen!
Stats: 33 minutes on the elliptical + 10 minutes on the rowing machine

Sun: Long run: 6 miles around Lake Merritt. First 1-1.5 miles were with the Gypsy Runner. We met up with KH. Then, the Gypsy Runner took off and KH and I ran one lap together around the lake, and I finished the 6 miles alone. Thank goodness for those two, or else this run would have been torture. I forgot how hard 6 miles can be when you haven’t done it in a while! Also, my right hip was bugging me a little. Hopefully that will go away soon.
Stats: 6.0 miles @ 10:03/mile

WEEKLY TOTAL: 12.2 miles + 43 min cross training
How I feel about it: Meh. OK for a first week back. B

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
4 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 1 (woot woot!)
  1. Dominick S. says:

    Yeah! Hal Higdon is doing well for me and I am working in an extra hour of cross training on Thursdays when I can. As you know I am also doing Pilates at least twice a week but only for about 20-30 minutes each time. I think I may increase the mileage on the 19 miler and the 20 miler as well but I will let you know once I get there. Good luck in your training and welcome back to the states!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Dominick! Yes, definitely let me know how those long runs work out for you. I’m thinking about adding P90X Ab Ripper 2x a week (akin to your Pilates workout). Thanks for letting me be your copycat! 🙂

  2. Roserunner says:

    I like your schedule. I was thinking about trying out a 24 mike run before CIM. I read once that you hit the wall at about the same distance of your longest run….and I usually hit the wall around mile 22, which indeed is usually my longest pre race run.

    So glad I finally ran into you!! There really is no way around that pun…

    • Jen says:

      The longest run = wall correlation makes sense to me. My friend also said that in her experience, it doesn’t matter how long your longest run is, just as long as you get in more than one 20+ mile run. That makes a lot of sense too.

      Hope to see you around the lake again!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
