Weekly training recap: CIM Week 2

Sometime this week, it finally hit me that I’m running 26.2 miles in 3.5 months. Yikes! I think watching this video had something to do with it:

Watching this video was simultaneously exciting and scary. I think the next big “revelation” will hit me when my long runs get into the 14+ mile category, which will be farther than I’ve ever run. Like I said, exciting and scary.

Anyway, here’s what I was up to this week:

Mon: Rest.

Tues: 0.3 mile warm-up + 3 miles tempo (9:07, 9:17, 9:18). I was really nervous about this run, knowing that I lost a lot of speed over my vacation. So I was pretty pleased with these 3 miles at better-than-my-10K-PR, McMillan-Running-suggested tempo pace… even if I did end up walking for ~1 minute between miles 2 and 3. I was feeling so good that I decided to do a P90x Ab Ripper workout. Unfortunately, I lasted all of 7 minutes (out of 15) before I collapsed into a useless pile.
Stats: 3.3 miles @ 9:28/mile + 7 min Ab Ripper

Wed: Spin class with Ali O at the YMCA. It’s been years since I’ve gone spinning, but I always liked it. Having just joined the Downtown Oakland YMCA, I was excited to check out their classes, and I knew that Ali was a member there. We signed up for neighboring bikes and sweated it out for 50 minutes, all the while huffing, puffing, and making abstract sweat-dotted artwork on the cement floor. You can read more about our spin class adventure on Ali’s blog.
Stats: 50 minutes spin class

Thurs:  After killing my legs with a tempo run on Tuesday and spinning on Wednesday, I decided to take it super easy. Highlight: I ran into fellow running blogger RoseRunner, who was also on her morning run around Lake Merritt. We connected a few months ago over email and since we both run regularly around the Lake, I knew it was a matter of time before our paths would collide. It was cool to finally meet her in person!
Stats: 6.2 miles @ 10:46/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Since the Gypsy Runner and I were going to a family event near Lake Chabot, I decided to move my long run to Saturday. I’ve run around Lake Chabot several times, and the one big hill at the beginning of mile 3 always kills me. (Elevation change: ~280 feet over 0.5 mile.) I pushed myself to run (i.e., slowly jog) to the first tree line this time, which cut a whole minute off my mile pace, as compared to the last time I ran this course in April, but I still had to walk to the top. I also got my first running-related chafing “injury” under my arm. Boo!! I blame the Patagonia shirt I was wearing, since this has never ever happened to me before. On the positive side, it was very peaceful (I saw one other runner during the middle 3 miles) and the views were very nice, as always.
Stats: 8.6 miles @11:52/mile

the marshy part of Lake Chabot

One of the very peaceful trails on the other side of that crazy hill. Makes the climb totally worth it.

Sun: Went swimming for the first time in AGES. It’s been at least 3-4 years. I was a little bit nervous, strangely. I also didn’t have high expectations, which was a good thing because boy am I out of swimming shape! I couldn’t swim a lap without stopping, so I would swim one length (25 meters), stop, catch my breath, and swim another length. My triceps are sore! It was a good workout, and I’m glad I went. I hope to see significant improvements in this area as I continue my training.
Stats: 500 meters over ~30 minutes

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 17 miles/ Actual 18.1 miles + ~87 min cross training
How I feel about it: Pretty good! Mileage and cross training are both going well. My legs are sore but not too sore, and I’ve been diligent about stretching and rolling. A- *

* I was recently asked to clarify my grading for these weekly recaps. Basically, I’m a glass half-full kind of person… and I’ll gladly accept any accusation of grade inflation. I’d probably give myself a C for effort, a B for hitting my marks, and an A for extra effort/above and beyond. I once heard (or read) that if you’re accomplishing more than 70% of your goals, then you’re setting the bar too low. Well, you know what I have to say about that? I’d rather set my goals within reason than to feel like I’m always failing. Maybe once I feel like I’m a badass expert marathon woman, then I’ll go for a higher failure rate, but until then, bring on the grade inflation!! 🙂

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
5 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 2
  1. Laura says:

    You’ve SO got CIM! Plus, you have the time to get there- you already know you can go 13, so why not 15, then 18, then 20? No problem. 🙂

  2. aewills says:

    Sounds like a great training week! Balanced and successful. Great that you’re in such good shape coming back from vacation, too!
    If meeting more than 70% of your goals was a sign of setting the bar too low, I would end up with my bar set at a point that I couldn’t strive for without getting hurt all the time. I love your grading scheme.

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, so far so good. It’s only week 2 though, so we’ll see how this continues to go. 🙂
      As for the goal setting — I feel like you have to be a true masochist to set the bar that high. Thanks but no thanks!

  3. Angela says:

    CIM!!! I love all the posts lately about people starting to train for it. Best. Marathon. EVER. I am so excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
