Weekly training recap: CIM Week 3

Two themes this week:

1. “You gotta start somewhere.” I feel like I’ve been repeating this to myself over and over again. I don’t know why I keep thinking that I will be awesome/super fast/super strong all of the time. That’s why it’s called training right?

2. Fatigue. I don’t know if it was because I switched my rest days around this week or what, but I was really, really tired. Like, sleeping 9-10 hours a night on 3 separate occasions kind of tired.  But I’ve heard that this is normal during marathon training. Can anyone out there verify this for me?

I’ve also been in denial dealing with some minor aches and pains, mostly in my right ankle (where I had surgery 3 years ago) and my right hip. I’ve been stretching and rolling, but I may have to get more aggressive soon. Looks like RICE (both the grain and “Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation”) may be in my future.

Oh, and guess what happened this week? CIM is sold out, 2 months earlier than last year! I’m glad I registered so far in advance, but also sad that some friends didn’t get to sign up in time.

Anyway, here’s what I was up to this week:

Mon: Spinning with AW! She’s been having knee issues, so I offered to show her some of my tried-and-true ACL rehab exercises. We tacked on a 50-minute spin class on top of that. Our instructor was mildly crazy, very enthusiastic, and intermittenly entertaining as she led us through an 100 rpm workout. The goal was to maintain 100 rpms, no matter what the resistance. This was tough, to say the least. I think I ended up averaging 90 rpms.
Stats: 50 min spin class

Tues: 3 miles HM pace was on the calendar, but my tired legs did not cooperate so I ran 4 easy miles instead. I also did the P90X Ab Ripper workout.
Stats: 4 miles @ 10:56/mile + 15 min Ab Ripper

Wed: Rest.

Thurs:  1 mile warm-up + 6 x 400m intervals (2:14, 2:11, 2:02, 2:02, 2:04, 2:05) + 2 miles cool down. I was running faster 800m paces pre-vacation, so it’s sad to see how slow I’ve gotten. On the other hand, you gotta start somewhere.
Stats: 6.0 miles @ 10:09/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Another weekend where it made more sense to do my long run on Saturday instead of Sunday. I wanted to take it easy, so I opted for a flat-as-a-pancake loop in Alameda. I even had my fancy new Zoot ultra compression socks (which I got for a sweet deal from Running Warehouse). Unfortunately, I was dragging the whole time, mentally and physically. I was glad that the Gypsy Runner ran with me, or else I would’ve clocked 12 minute miles. For reals. On the upside, I haven’t done a 10 mile training run since before the Oakland Half Marathon in March, so yay for me. And yay for the Gypsy Runner — this was his longest training run ever!
Stats: 10 miles @10:45/mile

Got my new socks on and ready to go!

Sun: Planned on going to yoga followed by a swim workout, but didn’t wake up in time for yoga, so… I swam 800 meters, which is 300 more than last week. I still have to stop after each length, but my rest periods are getting shorter. Progress?
Stats: 800 meters over ~45 minutes

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 19 miles/ Actual 20 miles + ~100 min cross training
How I feel about it: OK. Happy that I attained my mileage goals, but the quality of my runs/workouts could have been better. B-

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
3 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 3
  1. Dominick S. says:

    I wish I could sleep 9-10 hours, three days a week. If you can do it, I am sure it’s great for your body! I get about 7-8 hours a night and my body seems to respond well. I do get fatigued but that is likely because I’m not getting enough sleep.

    Great job on knocking out 10 miles! Everyone tells me that the pace is almost irrelevant, the key is to get the mileage in on the long runs. The speed work you do during the week will make the most impact. Nice week!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Dominick! I know in my head that the distance is what counts, but when I’m out there, I’m like, “Why am I running so slow?? I can’t believe I’ve only run 2 miles! Ugh, my back hurts.” So it wasn’t so much the speed, but my attitude that sucked. The one thing that helped was being glad that I didn’t have to run more than 10 miles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
