Weekly training recap: CIM Week 8

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Hill run up Trestle Glen. My goal was to push myself a little harder during the run up the hill than in the past couple of times. I’m happy to report that I took 30 seconds off my pace from the last time I ran this hill! However, the downside is that I managed to turn around before the REAL hill came, only running ~170 feet elevation gain. Whatevs, I’ll take it!
Stats: 6.1 miles @ 10:20/mile

Wed: Arm and core exercises, followed by movie-themed spin class. Great workout.
Stats: 70 min cross-training

Thurs: Had 3-6 easy miles planned, heading into 16 miles on Friday. Decided to take the “long” route around Lake Merritt.
Stats: 3.75 miles @ 10:31/mile

Fri: 16 miles! But you probably already knew that.
Stats: 16 miles @ ~11:46/mile (1654 feet elevation gain)

Sat: Rest day, but I did a decent amount of dancing and jumping around (plyometrics?) at the Gypsy Runner’s cousin’s wedding.
Stats: (unofficially 30-45 min dancing)

We clean up nice, don’t we?

Sun: Tired and a little bit hungover + no swimming in 4 weeks = rough return to the pool. It didn’t help that I was swimming in the lane next to the family swim area, and the lane dividers kept creeping up next to me. As a result, I kept the work out short and sweet at 35 minutes.
Stats: 35 min swimming

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 25-28 miles/ Actual 25.85 miles + 105 min cross training
How I feel about it: Pretty good overall. I was very satisfied with my long run and the cross training on Wednesday. The swimming could definitely be better. A

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
8 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 8
  1. Dominick S. says:

    You guys do clean up nice! Way to stick with your training and make it work with social commitments. You just reminded me I need to get back in the pool.

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Dominick!
      I can’t believe I have to remind you to get back in the pool. Isn’t it super hot down there? Don’t you *want* to jump in the pool?

  2. Amy says:

    That is a fantastic picture of you guys! I’m intrigued by your movie themed spin class! Once the race is over, my plan is to spend a month going to spin and learning how to swim. I’m looking forward to my month long running break (though we’re still doing 7-10 milers during the weekends).

    And I didn’t realize elevation gains like that existed in the East Bay! Awesome job conquering the elevation during your long run!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks re: picture. It’s funny that both of us posted a wedding photo this week on our blogs. 🙂 The spin instructor who did the movie themes is a hoot, and he has a loyal following. As a result, the class is really fun. Tonight I’m going to try Zumba for the first time and I’m pretty excited about it. Do you really not know how to swim? I took a beginner swim class about 4-5 years ago at the Berkeley YMCA. Before that, I was doing advanced doggie paddle. haha

      Yes, LOTS of hills in the East Bay — Tilden, Redwood Regional, Lake Chabot. They are my running frenemies. 🙂

      • Amy says:

        I truthfully don’t know how to swim. I can survive for a bit, but I can’t get from one side of the pool to the other! Aaron has tried to teach me a couple of times, but I still can’t get the breathing part right. I’m determined to have it down by the end of November!

  3. Cathryn says:

    You DO scrub up nicely!!! Lovely photo of you both!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
