Weekly training recap: CIM Week 9

Welcome to CIM Week 9! Before I get to the training recap, I’ve got a couple of Chicago Marathon shout-outs:

1. To Mike, who bested his previous marathon PR by over 9 minutes! Go Mike!

2. To Amy, who embraced the “Go big or go home” philosophy by declaring that she would attempt to qualify for the Boston Marathon on her very first try. And guess what? She did it! Congrats Amy!!

Now, on to the training recap…

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Working my way up to the full set of 10 Yasso 800’s. My goal was between 4:20-4:30 per 800 m. I ended up averaging 4:29 (splits: 4:28, 4:28, 4:28, 4:32, 4:28, 4:33, 4:31, 4:25). It was a tough workout… I felt done after 6 sets, but I was glad that I pushed myself to keep going. I was also pleased to see that my average time dropped by 6 seconds from a few weeks ago, even as I increased the number of sets from 6 to 8. I think that means I’m getting faster!
Stats: 6.52 miles @ 9:42/mile

Wed: Upper body weights, followed by my first Zumba class. It was a lot of fun, while also getting my heart rate up and working up a sweat. I’ll definitely be adding this to my rotation.
Stats: 70 min cross-training

Thurs: Had 6 on the calendar, but REALLY did not feel like running at all. I bargained with myself to run one easy lap around the lake. I’m glad I did it, even if my run was slower and shorter than the original plan.
Stats: 3.7 miles @ 10:45/mile

Fri: Another weekend full of social plans = rearranging my long run to Friday morning. Unlike last week’s 16, when I felt fresh and excited, this week’s 10 miles was the complete opposite. I had dead legs from the start and my route did not help me mentally — I ran halfway around the lake, out and back 3+ miles on Trestle Glen, then another 1.5 loops around the lake. The reason this was mentally taxing was because when I run up Trestle Glen, I’m usually done after one full lap around the lake. So, having to add another lap kinda messes with my head. Anyway! Despite my bad attitude and dead legs, I did manage to finish the 10 miles in not horrible time.

Fuel/misc. notes: no time for breakfast, so I had a banana and Gatorade Prime pre-run. During the run, I had a handheld bottle of Cytomax and ate one Clif Blok every 3 miles.
Stats: 10 miles @ 10:50/mile

So, one of the reasons I wanted to rearrange my run was because it was AEW‘s birthday and we had a girls’ night out to celebrate! Her husband and parents generously paid the tab for us to drink great wine and eat delicious foods for one evening. It was so fun, and I haven’t been out that late in so long. Happy birthday AEW!

Cheers! AEW and Laura.

One of the amazing platters we got at Dopo. This was the salami and pate platter.

Sat: The other reason for rearranging my long run was that the Gypsy Runner’s friend D rented a house for the weekend in Sea Ranch, CA to celebrate his 30th birthday. So, we drove up on Saturday morning and met up with the group who had gotten there the night before. It was a beautiful area and we had a nice time hanging out and playing games with everyone. I ate too much junk, as I’m apt to do on “vacation.” After Friday and Saturday’s festivities, I will definitely need a good detox this week.

Stengel Beach in Sea Ranch, CA

Sun: Having slept on an air mattress for less than 6 hours, then driving 3 hours back from Sea Ranch, the last thing I wanted to do was cross train. So, the Gypsy Runner and I did the only sensible thing: eat giant burritos and take naps. I’m postponing my swim to tomorrow morning and taking today as a rest day.

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 22-25 miles/ Actual 20.2 miles + 70 min cross training
How I feel about it: Not a good week for me. The one highlight was the Yasso workout on Tuesday. Zumba was good too, but everything else fell short. C

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
10 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 9
  1. Angela says:

    Ugh, hate those long runs where you feel dead from the start. Way to get it done, though! Love Sea Ranch — it’s sooo gorgeous there.

  2. XLMIC says:

    I have always wanted to check out Dopo…we had a weekly appointment virtually next door for over 3 years and never made it there! Looks pretty yummy!

    Sea Ranch sounds nice…a dead 10-miler – not so much! Way to do it 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Thanks XLMIC! Dopo was great for our small group of 4. They had various platters of things to share (see salumi and pate platter above), which was ideal for sharing and easy decision making. I recommend it for when you want to have a relaxing, semi-splurgy meal.

  3. Dominick S. says:

    Looks like a good week! I hate those days you don’t feel like running and especially those days where your legs don’t either. Way to stick with it.

    • Jen says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Dominick. I know you’ve had some rough weeks too. I think we should make ourselves t-shirts that read, “I DID IT!” Maybe on the back of our runner’s high-5 tee’s?

  4. Cathryn says:

    Well done on a good week…and yes zumba is fantastic. I’ve only ever done one class and didn’t really want to do it but I loved every second and really want to find a class to go to round here – they all seem to be linked to expensive gyms!!!

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you for the shout out!

    And funny that I am far more interested in meat trays (YUM) and burritos and beaches right now! And hooray for getting faster!

    • Jen says:

      Ha, yes, sounds like you’ve just finished a marathon… though meat trays, burritos, and beaches might always trump running in my book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 3 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
