Weekly training recaps: CIM Weeks 10 + 11

Since I was already late on the week 10 recap, I thought I’d double the fun and do a double recap. Woot!

WEEK 10
Mon (10/8)
: Swam to make up for no cross-training the day before.
Stats: Swam 45 min.

Tues: Easy version of negative mile splits from 10:22 down to 9:23. Highlight: saw Laura twice!
Stats: 6 miles @ 9:58/mile

Wed: Zumba + upper body weights + core. I was enjoying myself at Zumba until two late-comers showed up 20 minutes into the class. Both were newbies; one had the good sense to get a place in the back, while her friend decided to stand right behind the instructor. I know I’m going to sound insensitive here, and I’m sorry if I offend anyone, BUT… if you’re new to a class, and you’re not able to follow along, and you’re almost twice the size of the instructor, then PLEASE do not stand directly behind the instructor! I’m guessing a third of the class could not follow along because they could not see the instructor and/or were confused by the newcomer’s false moves. It was frustrating.
Stats: 75 min cross-training

Thurs: Run by feel: medium effort. One lap around the lake, sans headphones and no looking at my Garmin.
Stats: 3 miles @ 10:01/mile

Fri: Nice and easy jog around the Lake. This was my last run from my old apartment, which was bittersweet.
Stats: 3.2 miles @ 10:44/mile

Sat: REST. Needed fresh legs for the Healdsburg Half!

Sun: Birthday PR at the Healdsburg Half Marathon! Woot!
Stats: 13.14 miles @ 9:11/mile

WEEK 10 TOTAL: Target 25 miles/ Actual 25.34 miles + 120 min cross training
How I feel about it: Awesome week of both running and cross-training, culminating with a half marathon PR. Could not have asked for more. A.

WEEK 11
Mon (10/15): No time to recover from Healdsburg, since the Gypsy Runner and I had to move. Not the most standard form of cross-training, but I think moving two people’s stuff up 2 flights of stairs definitely counts!
Stats: Moved for 6 hours (I’ll count it as 60 min).

Tues: REST. I was so tired!

Wed: Took it easy, considering how much I had put my body through on Sunday and Monday. Good news: it went better than expected and I was pleasantly surprised at my pace. Bad news: my hip soreness from Sunday reappeared.
Stats: 3.87 miles @ 10:04/mile

Thurs: REST.

Fri: Another easy run. Needed to save my legs for the 18-miler on Saturday.
Stats: 3.8 miles @ 10:21/mile

Sat: 18 MILES! The plan was to run 4.5 miles by myself, starting at the Emeryville Marina, running along the Frontage Road, then meet AEW at Berkeley Marina. From there, we would run up to Point Isabelle (a new destination for me) and back to Berkeley Marina for ~11 miles together. Then I would finish the last part back to Emeryville by myself.

The weather had been fairly warm all week (sunny and in the upper 70s), so I was happy to wake up to overcast skies and significantly cooler temps, especially since there’s little to no shade on the Frontage Road. The first few miles went by very quickly, but I started having stomach issues. Unlike last week, where I was super careful about what I was eating and drinking all week, I decided it would be good “stomach training” to go out for my 18 miler with a less-than-optimal diet. This turned out to be a bad idea: I had stomach issues during the whole run. Usually, they’re resolved in the first few miles, but this time, they lingered on for a while. Fortunately, there were a sufficient number of porta potties on the way that it never ended up being a huge issue. But still, kinda unpleasant.

The other issue I had during this run was top of the foot pain in my left foot. I noticed that even before the run, my socks seemed to be unusually tight around my foot. I thought maybe I had put my compression socks on wrong. However, when I compared my two socks, they looked like they were on symmetrically/in the right manner. I decided it wasn’t anything to be too worried about, but the tenderness came and went throughout my run, and had me hobbling around for the rest of the day yesterday. It seems to be getting better after some rest and ice, but I think I’ll hold off on running again until it is resolved.

Despite these issues, I think this run, my longest run to-date, could not have gone any better. Sure, I was dying a little inside around mile 16 (and slowed down to a 12:00 min/mile pace), but the weather was great and I had adequate fueling (1 Clif Blok every 3 miles + Cytomax in my handheld). Most of all, I had company for the middle 11.5 miles, which was AWESOME. A big thank-you to AEW for keeping me company and running 2 minutes+ slower than her usual pace to help me out!

The sun finally came out at the very end of my run. In the distance: the Bay Bridge, San Francisco, and the Golden Gate Bridge (enshrouded in fog).

Post-run, I had a delicious, cold Gatorade waiting for me in my trunk. One valuable lesson I’ve learned during marathon training is that there’s nothing more refreshing than to have a cold, sugary drink ready at the end of a long run. When I got home, the Gypsy Runner took pity on me (and my zombie walk/ hobble), so he went and got us bahn mi (Vietnamese sandwiches) for lunch from around the corner. It was SO yummy and SO cheap! My favorite combination. 🙂

Get in my belly!

Stats: 18 miles @ 10:59/mile

Sun: Another unconventional cross-training day: cleaning my old apartment. Hey, scrubbing is hard work!
Stats: Cleaned for 3 hours (I’ll count it as 60 min).

WEEK 11 TOTAL: Target 30 miles/ Actual 25.7 miles + 120 min cross training
How I feel about it: Fell short on my training goals, but it was a weird week with all of the moving and whatnot. The most important thing is that I got my 18 miles in the books! B-.

 

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
13 comments on “Weekly training recaps: CIM Weeks 10 + 11
  1. aewills says:

    I didn’t realize how much your foot was bugging you–I hope that clears up immediately! I also have to go try out Bahn mi–those sandwiches look fantastic.

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, I didn’t want to whine too much about it. It was medium bothersome for the majority of the run, but got a lot worse during the last little bit – especially when I tried to run on the dirt next to the paved path. It’s still tender, but getting better (I think!).

  2. Cathryn says:

    ‘Yummy and cheap, my favourite combination’. You and me, we need to be friends 😉

    Congrats on a fantastic 18 miler. I seriously couldn’t contemplate that far!! Get icing, hope the foot heals quickly.

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Cathryn! There’s a Taiwanese phrase: “cheap and a big bowl” which is the highest praise for food, as far as I can tell. 😉

  3. Amy says:

    At least you learned what NOT to eat before the marathon! Great job on having such a strong 18 miler!

    And I really think moving stuff up 2 flights of stairs is really good cross training! You got your stair stepper AND your weight lifting in!

  4. Dominick S. says:

    Congrats on 18! That is huge, when is the marathon again? I have had that foot issue in the past but for the life of me I can’t remember what caused it but I think it is a standard tendon ache from increased mileage, be careful!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Dominick! The marathon is on December 2nd.
      A quick Google search suggests that it’s tendonitis from overuse — which in minimalist/barefoot runners could be caused by weak/sore calf muscles. I will keep icing it… hoping it’s 100% soon!

  5. Laura says:

    You did the damn thing, great work, girl! And sorry to hear about the foot! As Coach would say, don’t let ego overrule good judgement, so if it is hurting and you need to take a little time off, cross train more, and/or cut back on mileage DO IT! You are gonna kick so much CIM booty, girl!!!!!!!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Laura! The foot situation is tricky. It’s not so bad that I feel like I should cut back on mileage significantly, but then again, I would like for it to go away. I’ll know better after today’s 13 miles.

  6. […] the last section of the run. I felt tired at the end, but not as depleted as I was at the end of my 18-miler last year while training for CIM. I kept drawing parallels since I ran almost the same route and even picked up a friend (AW) for […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

9/17/17 – Alameda Half Marathon
10/1/17 – Tiburon Half (2:20 pacer)

Archives
Categories
