Weekly training recap: CIM Week 12

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Took it slow and easy, as a recovery run from the 18 miler last week. Also, my foot was still hurting and I didn’t want to make it worse.
Stats: 3.3 miles @ 10:49/mile

Wed: First spin class in 4 weeks and it was a good one. To my delight, my favorite instructor K was subbing for the listed teacher. Previously, K has played Motown, rap, and movie themes. On Wednesday, he started with 3 Billy Idol songs, some AC/DC, and ended with Rihanna and Gangnam Style. It was fun! And sweaty. I should add that K looks like an ex-football player and is always smiling from ear to ear. It’s hard not to like the guy. I followed the class with 20 minutes of weights.
Stats: 70 min cross-training

Thurs: Was supposed to run 6, but ended up cutting it short due to return of foot pain at mile 2.
Stats: 3.8 miles @ 9:51/mile

Fri: Again, I was supposed to run 6, but could not bring myself to do 2 laps around the Lake, so I ended up doing 2 loops at Bellevue. It was a good compromise, since it got me close to 6 miles. I tried to run at a medium effort, but it didn’t really translate into a faster pace, which was frustrating.
Stats: 5.4 miles @ 10:04/mile

A typical scene from this week: ice pack inside of my left sock (on top of my foot) and a heat pad on my right ankle (still having range of motion/stiffness issues).

Sat: I was originally going to run 12-13 miles at Redwood Regional, but with my foot bugging me, I decided to go for even footing and run 12 on the Lafayette Moraga Trail. Some of you might recall that I ran 14 miles here, and had a good time of it (for the most part). And after running 18 miles last week, I thought 12 miles would be a cake walk. WRONG.

My first mistake was underestimating/not respecting the distance. 12 miles might be easier than the other runs I’ve been doing lately, but it’s still 12 miles. My second mistake was forgetting my handheld bottle, my Clif Bloks, and my headphones at home. My third mistake was not having my mind right — I was not “in the zone” mentally to go out and get this run done. I was not feeling it at the beginning and I never got into the groove the whole time. Finally, my fourth mistake was starting at the Moraga side of things. It was much harder to establish a good rhythm with 2 major traffic lights and the bathroom break at mile 2.

Anyway, I’ll save you from the gory details, except to say that it was a very bad run — probably the worst long run of this training cycle. In spite of everything, I kept it together for 9 miles, averaging about 10:15 pace, but started falling apart after that. Mile 10 was full of walk breaks, where I couldn’t catch my breath, no matter how slowly I ran/walked. It took me 12:58 to finish that mile — ghastly! There was a hill, but a very slight one. Definitely not enough to warrant an almost 13-minute mile. Ugh.

At mile 11, I caught up to the Gypsy Runner, who didn’t have a great run either (maybe there was something in the air??). I made another bathroom stop, at which point my frustration hit a boiling point. This was the closest I’ve come to crying during marathon training, but I fought back the tears. This stupid 12 mile run was NOT going to get the best of me.

Despite forgetting just about everything that morning, I did pack a cooler with a Nalgene of cold Gatorade, which was just about the best thing EVER. I tried not to think about how I have to run 22 miles next week when I could barely finish 12 this week.
Stats: 12 miles @ 10:40/mile (492 feet elevation gain)

Sun: Was supposed to go swimming, but having had a horrible nights’ sleep (for no real reason), then attending the Gypsy Runner’s nephew’s birthday party, I was just too wiped out. Also, I was thinking that the extra rest day can only be good for my foot, which has improved, but is still being a nuisance.

It was this cutie’s 2nd birthday today. Happy birthday little guy!

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 27 miles/ Actual 24.5 miles + 70 min cross training
How I feel about it: Not a great week. Run quality was poor and I missed my mileage goals for the 2nd week in a row. But considering my foot issues, I guess it could’ve been a lot worse. C.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
7 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 12
  1. Amy says:

    Bummer, dude. I’m sorry about your foot. It is better to rest it than push it (as frustrating as it is), so you are likely doing the right thing. Hoping this week is much better for you!

  2. bt says:

    Dude, I hate rough training weeks. Good for you on toughing it out through almost all of the miles. Here’s to a better week next week!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Tennille. I figured that there had to be a few stinky weeks during marathon training… it’s par for the course, right? Hopefully it’s just a little blip on the radar.

  3. Dominick S. says:

    Rest! You don’t want to let that foot pain linger, let it heal. PS, 22 miles is a huge jump from 12, I think the mileage may be increasing too fast which is why you are having an issue with your foot. When is the marathon again? 6 weeks? If your foot isn’t feeling great maybe knock a few miles off your run this week, like shoot for 17 but plan a route with options so that way you could tack on 5 more miles if you are feeling pain free. Be careful!

    As for disrespecting the run…I think the hardest thing for me was coming to the realization that in 13 consecutive weeks I was doing long runs that were 5-6 miles more (at minimum) than I was running before training. Your body is definitely getting stronger but at the same time your legs are getting beat up at a rate that you’re not use to so don’t get disappointed, just chalk it up as just what it is…a training run. Also, I bet you won’t forget to pack your running fuel again…it’s all part of the learning process I am sure. You remember my terrible weeks, you are doing fantastic , you know that right?

    • Jen says:

      I don’t think it’s as much the increase in mileage as it was the “Let’s run a half marathon PR followed by an 18 mile run the next weekend.” Mileage-wise, I’ve been pretty consistent week to week… I think the fact that I put forward a hard effort at Healdsburg and then didn’t give my body a chance to rest was a big mistake (moving in the middle didn’t help things either!). It’s 5 weeks until the marathon. This weekend, I have a trail half marathon, which I plan on doing very very slowly. I was planning on doing another 9 miles after the half, but there are multiple ways for me to cut the run shorter if need be. I will assess it at 13 miles and see where I stand.

      Anyway, I really appreciate your support, as always. Reading your blog (and Amy’s too) has definitely helped a lot in terms of seeing what everyone else goes through training for their first marathon. So, thanks!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
