Weekly training recap: CIM Week 14

Before I start the recap, here’s a photo from last week’s Lake Chabot half marathon:

I’m actually smiling at the finish line for once because KP was at the other end cheering me on. (Photo courtesy of Coastal Trail Runs.)

Mon: Rest.

Tues: The Gypsy Runner convinced me to rest instead of going for my usual Tuesday morning run. By the afternoon, however, my soreness from Saturday’s 22-miler had subsided, so I decided to do an easy jog around Lake Merritt. It was my first afternoon run in months and, more importantly, the first PAIN FREE run in 2 weeks! The Lake was beautiful in the pre-sunset light. I also turned off the beeping on my Garmin and didn’t fiddle with it during my run at all — I think I will do this from now on when I’m not doing intervals.
Stats: 3.8 miles @ 10:28/mile

Dusk at Lake Merritt

Sunset on the Lake

Wed: Biked to and from the gym, 15 minutes on the treadmill, 20 minutes on the rowing machine, and 20 minutes of weights/core work.
Stats: 1.5 miles @ 10:00/mile + 60 min cross-training

Thurs: Since I haven’t done a speed or interval workout in weeks, I was itching for it. I decided to do Yasso 800’s on the treadmill. My workout:

  • 1 mile warm-up @ 10:00/mile
  • 10x Yasso 800 (4:33, 4:28 x 3, 4:25 x 3, 4:20 x 2, 4:17), average = 4:25
  • 400 m rest intervals @ 10:20/mile
  • 1 mile cool down @ 10:00/mile

This was a huge improvement over my first 2 attempts at Yassos: in week 6, I did 6 repeats for an average of 4:35, and in week 9, I did 8 repeats averaging 4:29. I remember thinking that those were really hard workouts at the time, so I’m really pleased to see how much my endurance and strength have improved. Granted, intervals on the treadmill are WAY easier than running around the lake, but an interval is an interval, right? Anyway, I was very happy with this workout — I’d be super happy to be able to run my first marathon in 4:25.
Stats: 9.5 miles @ 9:02/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: I met up with bt, a Bay Area blogger/runner, to run 12 miles together from the Berkeley Marina to Point Isabelle and back. bt contacted me a few weeks ago in search of potential running buddies who are also training for CIM. We discussed the possibility of running a 20-miler together, but before we made that commitment, we decided to test our running and conversational compatibility by running 12 miles together.

I admit to being slightly nervous at running with a complete stranger, but since we seemed to have at least a few things in common, and as our pre-run correspondence gave me a very positive impression of bt, I put those fears aside and approached the run with an open mind. Unlike my last 12-mile run, which was probably my worst yet, this 12 miler flew by quickly as we talked and ran along the frontage road. Sure, it was slower than that previous 12 mile run, but the pace was easy and conversational, and I did not feel super spent afterwards. Importantly, my foot pain has stayed at bay AND this was the first long run in ages where I didn’t have any stomach issues. Hooray!

(Side note: I’m starting to think that I eat too much for breakfast. Usually, I have a PB&J before my long runs, but yesterday I only had half of a PB&J and a whole banana. Other things that may have helped: getting up slightly earlier and running slightly slower. I did notice that I was hungrier towards the end of my run, so that’s something to keep in mind. The dinner I had the night before did not seem to make a big difference, as it was loaded with sugar, alcohol, and fiber. Go figure.)

So, thanks to bt for coming out to the East Bay so that we could run together! I’ve really enjoyed running long runs these past two weekends with a running buddy. Makes it feel so much easier!
Stats: 11.8 miles @ 11:02/mile (285′ elevation gain)

Sun: Woke up feeling lazy, which is typical for me on a Sunday. I forced myself to go for a swim before I could talk myself out of it. It went pretty well, considering that I haven’t swam in weeks, but I lost track of how many laps I swam. One funny thing that happened after my swim was that I decided to use the jacuzzi in the women’s locker room. It’s super awkward because you’re not supposed to wear clothes (i.e., bathing suits) in the jacuzzi, so all of the women were just sitting in there, naked, facing the same direction and avoiding eye contact. It’s like when you walk into the elevator and everyone faces the door, staring at the lights on the panel. Except way more awkward. I lasted all of 3 minutes in there.
Stats: 45 minutes cross-training.

WEEKLY TOTAL: Target 26.5-27.5 miles/ Actual 26.6 miles + 105 min cross training
How I feel about it: Great week. I felt good on all of my runs and cross-training was solid. Plus, no foot pain! Feeling good with 3 weeks left until CIM. A.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
14 comments on “Weekly training recap: CIM Week 14
  1. XLMIC says:

    The no foot pain part is the absolute best part of the whole week…especially since the week also involved solid training 🙂 Awesome, Jen!

  2. aewills says:

    Great work! Home stretch!

  3. JS says:

    You look so lean & fit in your picture. Very funny imagery of the jacuzzi scene. 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    Yay! This was a happy Jen post. No pain, and it sounds like you got all of your workouts in and they all went really well!

    And yeah, the gym jacuzzi naked thing is kind of weird. In spas maybe, but I’d rather be clothed at the gym. And we do a lot of interval training on the treadmill. It is easier, but it also ensures that you don’t slow yourself down toward the end!

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, I realize that the past couple of weeks have been a little sad re: marathon training. It’s good to have things click back into place 3 weeks before the race.

      I was also thinking about the naked Jacuzzi in the gym vs spa thing. I think a lot of it has to do with lighting and atmosphere. Fluorescent lighting plus naked bodies just makes everything more awkward. Plus the jacuzzi was really small compared to the ones I’ve been to at spas.

  5. bt says:

    Pain free is definitely the best part! Glad the long run worked out so well together and definitely looking forward to the next one.

  6. Dominick S. says:

    PAIN FREE…awesome news! Are you tapering now or do you have another long run on the calendar? That jacuzzi situation is so strange, I mean, society has conditioned me to have absolutely NO desire to sit in any enclosed space with people of the same gender…plus I have too crazy of an imagination and I probably would have vomited in the water…so you tell me Mr/s. Gym manager, do you prefer vomit in the water or a bathing suit…that’s what I thought.

    • Jen says:

      Haha, I’ll try telling the gym manager that next time. At least the bubbles were violent enough to obscure most body parts while under the water. It was pretty awkward walking in/out though. Everyone is sort of staring but trying not to at the same time.

      I have one more long run on the calendar — 20 miles on Saturday, which I will run with my new buddy bt. Then I will start tapering in earnest. For now, I’m glad I only planned a 2 week taper… I think I would go crazy if I had to taper for 3 weeks. We’ll see on 12/2 if that was a good idea or not.

  7. Kira says:

    I have fond memories of that YMCA locker room. I was addicted to the sauna, and it was the same situation with everybody naked and avoiding eye contact. I always tried to sneak a few peeks, pervert that I am.

    Glad your foot is feeling better! You’ve made amazing progress. You look so much more runner-y in your latest photo than in the one on you homepage (where you still look pretty damn good; trust me, I know what good looks like because I spent hours in the sauna at the YMCA).

    Let me know if you want company on a shorter run. I’m back up to 5-6 miles.

    • Jen says:

      Haha, thanks Kira. Didn’t realize you were such a pervert!

      Are you back in the Bay Area? Just for Thanksgiving? Let’s go for a turkey trot!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 3 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
