A resolution, for the time being

Just a quick follow-up to my previous post. Thanks for all of your input – either on this blog or in private. I appreciate everyone’s point of view and experiences. I feel like interacting with all of you has helped me better understand what I wanted from the situation.

Here are the general conclusions I’ve drawn:
– Although I think Jeff is a very good therapist, I’m not sure about the direction of our sessions. That, along with the hefty cost, has caused me to go ahead and cancel our appointment for next week. Jeff will always be around and I can definitely go back to him if I decide that’s what I want to do. For now, it just didn’t seem like the best option.
– I agree with those of you who have pointed out that addressing my ankle issue should be top priority. As far as this goes, I will make an appointment with a physical therapist. In the meantime, I’ll do as much as I can on my own.
– On that note, I need to focus more on not just ankle strengthening, but leg and core strengthening. So, as some of you suggested, cross-training, pilates, etc. will all be good for this.
– I still plan on running ~15-20 miles a week, but no speed workouts. I may even leave my Garmin at home (gasp!) so that I won’t get depressed about how slow I’m running.

So there you have it! Thanks again for your input, concern, and good wishes.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Injuries, random
2 comments on “A resolution, for the time being
  1. XLMIC says:

    Seriously, Jen…we should try running together.

  2. […] month, I went on and on about my dilemma with a certain massage therapist. My sister JS, who reads my blog (bless her […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
