Double Post! Weekly Training Recap: 12/17/12 & 2012 Year in Review

I’m about to go on my 2nd annual week-long holiday break from the internets, so you’re getting 2 posts in one today! This also means that I won’t be posting the recap for the Brazen NYE 5K until after the new year. I know what you’re thinking: “How will I be able to wait until January 2nd to find out what happened??” Ha. I think you’ll survive somehow. 🙂

Part I: Weekly Recap

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Didn’t have time to run in the morning, so had to settle for the treadmill after work. It’s not so bad when I can do intervals. My workout:
– 1 mile w/u @ 10:30
– 4x progressive 0.5 mile intervals @ 8:57, 8:49, 8:41, 8:34 pace with 0.25 rest intervals between @~10:15/mile.
– 0.25 cool down @ 10:00/mile

I felt pretty good overall. It wasn’t the speediest workout, but I was pleased with being able to finally run faster than 10:00 min/mile.

Stats: 4.25 miles @ 9:45/mile

Wed: Rest.

Thurs: Took it easy. It was cold! Well, cold by California standards — 41 degrees. I wore a headscarf (a.k.a., my CIM gaiter).
Stats: 4 miles @ 10:30/mile

Not the most attractive, but it kept me warm.

Not the most attractive, but it kept me warm.

Fri & Sat: Rest.

Random, gratuitous photo of carnitas tacos from our local taco truck. Only $1.25 each! They are amazing.

Random, gratuitous photo of carnitas tacos from our local taco truck. Only $1.25 each! They are amazing.

Sun: This was the second weekend in a row where I had the intention of going on a long run, but failed. Since it’s been raining, I had to scratch off the 10 mile run that I had wanted to do. I was optimistic that I could do 7 slow miles on the treadmill, but alas, I could not. I stopped after only 3 — it seemed like an eternity!! Hoping to go on a longer run tomorrow, when this storm will finally be gone.
Stats: 3 miles @ 10:54/mile

WEEKLY TOTAL: 11.25 miles + 0 min cross training
How I feel about it: Pretty sad week. D-

***

Part II: 2012 Year in Review

There’s one more week left in 2012, so these numbers aren’t final yet, but I thought it would be neat to do a quick summary of my year in running. Even without seeing the numbers, I can tell you for a fact that this is the most I’ve ever run in my whole life. At the beginning of 2012, I only knew for sure that I would run one half marathon. I had no idea that I’d end up running 2 more half marathons AND a full marathon too!

Without further ado, the numbers (UPDATED! 1/1/13):
Miles: 818 830
Races: 15 16
Miles raced: 142 145
PRs: I ran personal bests in every race category this year. Woot!
– 5K – 26:25 @ LMJS 4th Sunday Race (May); faster than pre-2012 PR by ~3 min 30 sec
– 10K – 56:49 @ LMJS 4th Sunday Race (September); faster than pre-2012 PR by ~5 min
– Half – 2:00:37 @ Healdsburg Half Marathon (October); faster than pre-2012 PR by ~9 min
– Marathon – 4:32:39 @ California International Marathon (December); automatic 1st race PR 🙂

Highlights:
Oakland Half: Such a great experience. This is the race that got me hooked on running!
Healdsburg Half: A big PR on my birthday. A winning combo!
California International Marathon: My first marathon. What an epic experience – one that I will never forget.
– Starting this blog in April. It’s been a great outlet for me, saving my non-runner friends from having to listen to me blabber on about all things running-related.

Low points:
Spraining my thumb after falling at the Cinderella 10K.
Lake Chabot Trail Challenge: Definitely my toughest race to date, both physically and mentally.
– Dealing with minor but persistent injuries in my ankle, hip, and feet.

It’s been a really fun and amazing year. I wish you all a happy holiday season! See you in 2013!!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in random, Training
6 comments on “Double Post! Weekly Training Recap: 12/17/12 & 2012 Year in Review
  1. Dominick S. says:

    Happy Holidays and New Year to you as well! That is a pretty full year of awesomeness…looking forward to seeing 2013! It looks like we both need to get our milage up a bit!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Dominick! Happy holidays to you too!
      As for mileage — this is way far beyond what I’ve done in previous years, so I’m very satisfied with it. But, I’m definitely eager to see how many miles I can rack up in 2013.

  2. […] year, I recapped the year with running stats, highlights, and low points.  Here’s the same for […]

  3. […] nerd, so no year-end summary would be complete without #ALLTHENUMBERS. (Here are the stats from 2012 and […]

  4. […] to the new year. Also, since I’m a numbers nerd, I like to look back at previous years (see 2012, 2013, & 2014) to compare stats like mileage and races. So, without further […]

  5. […] year’s running and to help me focus on goals for the coming year. (Here are the recaps from 2012, 2013, 2014, and […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

9/17/17 – Alameda Half Marathon
10/1/17 – Tiburon Half (2:20 pacer)

Archives
Categories
