Double weekly training recap: 12/24-12/31/12

I realized that I never recapped the last week of December, so you get 2 weekly recaps today. Woot!

Week of 12/24/12
Mon: Christmas Eve jog. Purposely took it super easy and slow.
Stats: 4.1 miles @ 11:13/mile

Tues: Rest. Ate, drank, and was merry.
Wed: Rest.

Thurs: Another slow and easy jog. I focused on form to keep myself entertained.
Stats: 4 miles @ 11:05/mile

Fri: Rest.

Sat: Brazen NYE 5K + 0.75 mile warm-up.
Stats: 4 miles

Sun: Rest.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 12.1 miles + 0 min cross training
How I felt about it: Another low mileage week, but was glad I got out there despite the holiday festivities (and general laziness). C-.

***

Week of 12/31/12
Mon: I wanted to finish 2012 with a good run, but ended up cutting it short due to stomach issues. Oh well, it is what it is.
Stats: 2.5 miles @ 11:00/mile

Happy New Year! from me and the Gypsy Runner :)

Happy New Year! from me and the Gypsy Runner 🙂

Tues: Decided to go for a long trail run at Redwood Regional. It was a bit chilly, but the trails were beautiful. I took things slow on purpose to keep on top of my form. It was a great way to start the year!
Stats: 6.8 miles @ 12:03/mile, ~900′ elevation gain (this might be off; my Garmin’s elevation function has been wonky).

One of my favorite parts of the West Ridge Trail.

One of my favorite parts of the West Ridge Trail at Redwood Regional Park.

Wed: Rest. Flew from SFO to IAD.

Thurs: Since I’m in Maryland for a week, I bought a 3 visit pass at my sister’s gym. I ran on the treadmill, did 10 minutes of rowing, and stretched.
Stats: 4 miles @ 10:24/mile, 10 min rowing

Fri: Rest. Ate a lot of yummy food.

Vacation = good friends and good food! We had a girls' night outing to Honey Pig for Korean BBQ.

Vacation = good friends and good food! We had a girls’ night outing to Honey Pig for Korean BBQ.

Sat: Rest. I think I walked all of 10 steps the whole day. Can you say sedentary?

Sun: Back to the gym for more miles on treadmill. I entertained myself with junk tv to help the time pass by faster. I think this was the first time ever that I’ve run more than 6 miles on a treadmill! Also, it was my longest run since the marathon.
Stats: 8 miles @ 10:33/mile

WEEKLY TOTAL: 21.3 miles + 10 min cross training
How I feel about it: First 20+ mile week since the marathon! I’m happy to report that my body feels pretty good about it — not a lot of stiffness or joint pain. I need to get back to cross-training though. B+

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Training
6 comments on “Double weekly training recap: 12/24-12/31/12
  1. Cathryn says:

    Good running!! 8 miles on a treadmill, I would have died first!!!

  2. Dominick S. says:

    Way to get in some mileage and congrats on the long run! We both knocked out an 8 miler and returned to “distance” running.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
