Weekly training recap: 1/7/13

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Last treadmill workout at my sister’s gym in Maryland, and first “speed” workout in a long, long time. Here are the details:
– 1 mile warm-up @ 10:30
– 3 miles ramping up to HM pace: 9:30, 9:13, 8:57
– 0.5 mile cool-down @10:00-10:50
Nothing crazy, but it’s a start. I was beginning to wonder if I could even run under 10:00 minute miles, so this workout was reassuring.
Stats: 4.5 miles @ 9:39/mile

Wed: Stretching and PT exercises, prescribed by SB. Can’t believe it took me a full hour, but I guess it’s what I gotta do!
Stats: 60 min strengthening/stretching

Thurs: Was supposed to run, but decided to rest. Did manage to stretch and roll.
Stats: 30 min stretching/rolling

Fri: Very low energy run. I felt like I was sleep-jogging through molasses! Worst run in a long time. Followed up the run with PT exercises and stretching.
Stats: 3.7 miles @ 11:07/mile + 60 min strengthening/stretching

Sat: Still feeling tired, so decided to stay in and do a Pilates workout from a DVD I bought ages ago. I remembered that it was pretty grueling, and my memory was right — I stopped after 15 min. Later in the day, I stretched and rolled while watching the San Francisco 49ers playoff game.

Oh, I got new trail running shoes too! After deciding between the INOV-8 Trail Roc 245 and the Altra Superior, I bought the latter. I wore them when the Gypsy Runner and I walked to and from the library (about 2 miles total) and they felt great! I’ve heard that they have excellent tread, which is what I was looking for in a trail shoe. My Merrells are great, but they can be quite slippery. I’ll let you know how the new shoes work out after a few runs!
Stats: 45 min Pilates + stretching

My spiffy new trail shoes - the Altra Superior.

My spiffy new trail shoes – the Altra Superior.

Sun: Wanted to try out the new shoes SO badly on trails, but I also wanted to get back to long-ish runs. Plus, I was (am) on a tight schedule today, so I decided to stay local and just run around Lake Merritt twice. It wasn’t too boring, since I’ve been away for a while. Plus, I had a new audiobook to keep me occupied. Nothing too exciting to report — the run was fine, but my left glute/hip was bugging me a little. Will have to massage and stretch it out later!
Stats: 8.8 miles @ 10:52/mile

Lake Merritt this morning. Not too shabby!

Lake Merritt this morning. Not too shabby!

WEEKLY TOTAL: 17 miles + 3.25 hours cross training/stretching
How I felt about it: Some highs and some lows, but pretty happy overall with this week. Hope I stick with the stretching and PT exercises. They are time consuming, but I really want the payoff. B+.

 

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Training
8 comments on “Weekly training recap: 1/7/13
  1. Dominick S. says:

    Stretching is time consuming, especially your routine. I am just trying to remember to stretch a few minutes before my run and DEFINITELY trying my best to stretch after. Nice week!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Dominick. Yeah, I was a bit lax on stretching before… and now I’m paying for it. What I’m realizing is that I wasn’t holding stretches for nearly long enough for them to make a difference. I’m supposed to work my way up to holding each stretch for 5 minutes straight!

  2. Cathryn says:

    I’m impressed with the stretching too – but dismayed by your comment above about holding the stretch. I’m stretched and done in about three minutes if that!! Need to stretch more.

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, it’s a real time-suck. Since I’m on a business trip, I’ve just been stretching while watching tv, holed up in my hotel room. It hasn’t been too bad, but I know it will be harder to find the time when I get home.

  3. Amy says:

    Welcome back! Very spiffy shoes. I have no idea why, but I kind of dread the amount of time it takes to stretch/foam roll (I complain about 10 minutes…an hour sounds miserable!). But it is completely necessary (if only I remembered this, I wouldn’t be spending so much run time doing yoga this week).

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
