Weekly training recap: 1/14/13

Mon: Physical therapy exercises, stretching, and rolling. Nothing too exciting here.
Stats: 60 min strengthening/stretching

Tues: On the road again (this time for business), so it’s the treadmill again! The good news is that my hotel had a really nice gym with about 7 treadmills (all outfitted with TV’s), 5 ellipticals, 2 bikes, and a full weight room. The bad news is that I was super exhausted from 2 long days at work and also short on time, as I had to meet some friends for dinner. The original plan was to try 4 x 800 m intervals. I managed to warm-up and eek out 2 x 800 m at ~4:20 pace before deciding to end my run at 3 miles. Not a great workout, but I’ll take what I can get. I did my stretching routine after dinner. And yes, I brought my foam roller with me!
Stats: 3 miles @ 10:00/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Wed: See Monday.
Stats: 60 min strengthening/stretching

Thurs: Still feeling very tired, but wanted to get a good run in. I ended up doing 1/2 mile warm-up, followed by 5 miles of random progressions between 5.7 and 6.3 mph, finishing with 1/2 mile cool down. It made for a pretty good workout actually. A re-run of the season finale of Project Runway All-Stars also helped pass the time.
Stats: 6 miles @ 10:00/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Fri: Got home from my business trip. Poor Gypsy Runner was sick with a stomach flu. What’s a girl to do but do her PT exercises while catching up on the first few episodes of Downton Abbey, Season 3?
Stats: 60 min strengthening/stretching

Sat: Finally got to go on a trail run in my new shoes — the Altra Superior! I took them out for a spin at Redwood Regional. The weather was perfect for running, about low 50’s and sunny. The shoes were great up until mile 6, when I started to get a hotspot on the balls of my feet. I think they will need to be tightened… and perhaps I will need to wear thicker socks in them so I don’t slide around so much.
Stats: 8.3 miles @ 12:27/mile (~900′ elevation gain) + 30 min stretching/rolling

Ah, I love trail running!

Ah, I love trail running!

shoes

New shoes!

Sun: Took some friends hiking on some of my favorite trails in Redwood Regional. Can’t get enough of that place, it seems. We went down the French Trail, recreated the infamous Cinderella 10K face plant, and climbed up the Woodmonster. Again, the weather was awesome and the scenery was really peaceful. Not to mention that I had some great company. A perfect hike!
Stats: 4.8 miles hiking (2 hours) + (30 min stretching/rolling yet to do)

WEEKLY TOTAL: 17.3 miles + 7 hours cross training/stretching
How I felt about it: I think this could’ve been a higher mileage week, but the quality of miles was pretty good, all things considered (being out of town, etc.). I’m not quite as fast as I had hoped for at this point of half marathon training, but it is what it is. I’m hoping that the trail running will eventually pay dividends in terms of speed. Glad that I’ve been able to keep up with the PT exercises; I think they’ve been helpful, especially the balance training. B.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Posted in Training
8 comments on “Weekly training recap: 1/14/13
  1. Jeff Gallup says:

    how do you like the Altra’s? I’m dying to get a chance to review their trail shoes…

    • Jen says:

      I like them a lot so far, but want to run at least a few more times in them before writing even a preliminary review. Compared with the Merrell trail gloves (my primary shoe), they are more cushioned, have a wider toe box, and and are wider throughout the midsole. The wideness might be my #1 problem, as I have skinny feet. I think I might have to wear thicker socks. They are also less breathable. That said, they are extremely comfortable without giving up ground-feel (I ran without the rockplate — an awesome feature b/c it’s removable). I have a feeling that the Altras will become my go-to shoe for longer and more technical trail runs, when my feet will appreciate the cushioning that the Merrells lack.

  2. Amy says:

    Glad to hear all of your PT stuff is working out! I don’t love trail running, but I do really think that it helps with speed and overall fitness. Your trail pictures always look so inviting! Hope the GR is feeling better!

    • Jen says:

      The GR is almost completely recovered — thanks for your well-wishes. Thankfully, I don’t have any symptoms, so I think I’m in the clear (for now).

  3. Roserunner says:

    Man, all your posts pile up in my reader because they have that “after the jump” thing. Ya gotta change that! I can only see the first sentence from google reader

    Gonna catch up on the whacko therapist

  4. Cathryn says:

    Great week running, well done on the dreadmill time. It’s funny…now I’m snowed in, I’d kill for a treadmill 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Haha, yeah, it’s good to keep things in perspective. I got kinda used to running on treadmills, actually. It seems much harder to run outside “in the real world” now. Anyway, hope the snow thaws and you get some miles in soon!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
