Weekly training recap: 1/21/13

Mon: 30 min stretching and rolling.

Tues: A nice, leisurely jog around Lake Merritt. Took it very easy, since my legs were still sore from the weekend’s hike and run at Redwood Regional. In the evening, I did PT exercises and stretching. Oh, and I got my new balance trainer in the mail, along with a travel stick massager. Exciting!!
Stats: 4 miles @ 11:12/mile + 60 min strengthening/stretching/rolling

New goodies from Amazon!

New goodies from Amazon!

Wed: Was going to go to the gym between work and dinner at a friend’s apartment, but got lazy. So lazy that I didn’t even stretch. BOO. And thus begins the falling off the wagon…

Thurs: No time for exercise, as I had to fit in a few hours of work in before taking off for Lake Tahoe for a ski trip with my old lab. Does sitting in a hot tub count towards stretching/massage?

Fri: Skied all day at Kirkwood! I was hoping that the running would have helped with the skiing, but my quads were killing me by lunch time. Did some stretching apres ski, but nothing as intense as I usually do.
Stats: skiing + 15 min stretching

Forgot how much I love skiing and Kirkwood. It was so much fun.

Forgot how much I love skiing and Kirkwood. It was so much fun.

Sat: Spent the first half of the day driving back from Tahoe, then the afternoon taking a long nap. When I woke up, it was time to make dinner, then we had to go over to our friends’ house. Again, no stretching or any kind of exercise. BOO x 2.

Sun: Went for a nice, long trail run at Lake Chabot. The Gypsy Runner and I started off together for the first mile, and then he ran ahead toward his parents’ place (where we were going to watch the Sharks game), while I kept on the path around the Lake. It was a great run, except for the GI issues that bugged me off and on throughout. BOO x 3. I wore my new Altra Superiors for the second time, and am happy to report that they felt MUCH better with thicker socks (Zoot compression socks). No hot spots today! Also, my back and hips felt a lot better than they have in a LONG time. I don’t know if that was thanks to the extensive rest I’ve had this week, or due to the stretching and strengthening, but either way, I’ll take it!
Stats: 8.5 miles @ 11:45/mile + (30 min stretching/rolling yet to do)

Pretty sunset at Lake Chabot.

Pretty sunset at Lake Chabot.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 12.5 miles + 2 hours cross training/stretching + 1 day skiing
How I felt about it: Well, I totally fell off the wagon this week. I can blame it on the Tahoe trip really throwing a wrench in everything, but really it came down to my own laziness. All of the traveling I’ve been doing this month finally caught up to me and I crumbled.

Also, I’m not feeling particularly confident about the Oakland Half Marathon. A sub-2 sounds downright painful right now… and I have a lot more work to do before I get there. I’ve got 8 weeks to get it done. D+.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
6 comments on “Weekly training recap: 1/21/13
  1. Dominick S. says:

    8 weeks is plenty of time and hopefully you are not stressing yourself out too much about this week and are instead looking at it as a light week of “rest” so you can really get after it!

    • Jen says:

      No, I’m not really stressed. My first priority is to work towards being 100% healthy. I know for sure that I can definitely get a course record at the Oakland Half, because I’m in much better shape this year than I was last year. However, I haven’t done any speed work and that’s where my confidence is lacking. If I can’t get sub-2 at Oakland, well, then there’s always the SF Half in June!

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Those weeks come when life gets in the way… cross training counts for more than we give it credit for, I think. 🙂 Best of luck shooting for the sub-2!

  3. Cathryn says:

    Skiing is great cross training…but my quads aways kill by the afternoon!! Haven’t skied for a few years now…it may be time to buckle up my big girl pants and hit the piste again.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
