Weekly training recap: 3/11/13

Less than 7 days to go before the Oakland Half Marathon! Pretty much as soon as I wrote my last blog post about confidence, my pre-race anxiety dropped significantly. Thanks to everyone for your words of encouragement! I’ve decided that I’m just going to focus on running my best race that day, regardless of what the time on the clock says. Anyway, here’s how this past week went down. I apologize in advance for the lack of pictures.

Mon: REST.

Tues: 5 easy miles around the Lake.
Stats: 5.2 miles @ 10:44/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Wed: 50 min core + PT exercises/stretching/rolling

Thurs: Last long run before the Oakland Half, but you probably already know about that.
Stats: 11.6 miles @ 10:17/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Fri: 2 hours indoor rock climbing + 30 min stretching/rolling

Sat: Run #7 with Running for a Better Oakland (RBO). This was the easiest RBO run physically but the toughest emotionally and mentally. My regular running buddy Alejandro didn’t show up, so I ended up running with “J,” a 7th grader. I spent almost the entire time motivating her. We talked extensively about the power of positive thinking and how negative thinking is draining… despite that, she constantly complained about being tired and wanting to stop. This is after 10 weeks of training and 12 miles of running last week!! In between the running stuff was the typical 7th grade girl drama – self esteem issues, boys, etc. This experience made me really respect middle school teachers and parents of middle school girls. I was exhausted!! What’s more, I missed Alejandro and his very positive attitude. I really lucked out with him.
Stats: 6.2 miles @ 14:21/mile + 15 min stretching/rolling

Sun: 60 min core + PT exercises/stretching/rolling

WEEKLY TOTAL: 23 miles + 6+ hours strengthening/PT/stretching
How I felt about it: Decent mileage, but the quality of the runs were a little suspect. C.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
4 comments on “Weekly training recap: 3/11/13
  1. JS says:

    Your encouragement to the 7th grade girl may have made a difference in her life. Maybe that was the reason that Alejandro had to be absent that day. 🙂

  2. Cathryn says:

    JS is right…girls need extra support sometimes. Hurrah for boys as well. I think what you’re doing is amazing and totally deserving of a VIP tent and extra-special loos on race day 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Cathryn. We get a special VIP tent, but we don’t get special loos. Plus we have to wear the ugly shiny blue RBO shirts instead of the cute tank top I was planning on wearing. BOO.

      Just kidding. It’ll be great!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
