The Decision

Thanks everyone for your feedback/thoughts on whether I should run the Western Pacific 10K on Saturday. As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I decided to take my ankle out for a test jog this morning. I was very optimistic that I could do a short, slow lap (3 miles) around the Lake. The first few minutes weren’t bad, actually. My form was a bit wonky, since I was trying to be extra careful/gentle with my ankle, but there was no pain to speak of. After about 5 minutes though, I started to feel a subtle throb in the center of my ankle every time I landed. The good news is that it ceased immediately after I stopped running, and that it wasn’t acute pain — all signs pointing to it being the minor injury that I suspected. However, I didn’t want to risk unnecessary damage/injury, so I was a good girl, cut my run short, and turned around for home. *Sigh*

With that “run,” I nixed the 10K. Kate suggested that I switch to the 5K, which, for some reason, had escaped me as a possibility. The more I thought about it, the more it seemed to make sense. Why?

  • I would’ve tried running 3 miles on Saturday, regardless of whether I was racing. I might as well do it at a Brazen race. (I run for It’s Its. haha)
  • The Gypsy Runner’s sister and dad are signed up for the 5K. I was thinking it would be fun to run with his sister LJ, who tends to run in the 10-11 minute pace range — and exactly my target for this race.
  • I would (hopefully) get back in time to cheer on Kate as she sets a new 10K PR! (fingers crossed, knock on wood,…)
  • If I have to DNF or take walk breaks, 3.1 miles won’t be too miserable.

So, the decision is made! I’m actually excited to be running a 5K for fun on Saturday. Racing for fun? What a concept! No Garmin and no anxiety. Hooray!

 

Up there with the Brazen medals… it’s the It’s It!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
12 comments on “The Decision
  1. Cathryn says:

    Good decision, I like it. Enjoy the ice-cream 🙂

  2. JS says:

    I think it’s a good decision too. Enjoy bonding with LJ.

  3. Kate says:

    Hooray for It’s-It’s! Glad you’ll still be out there with me!

  4. Dominick S. says:

    Have fun and RICE it up after just in case!

  5. Good decision, do not want to over do it and aggravate your injury.

  6. Sounds like a great decision! Enjoy!

  7. […] my ankle had other plans when it decided to be ornery and get injured a week before the race. After lots of thinking, I decided to switch to the […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
