Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 5

*SF2HM = San Francisco 2nd Half Marathon

Get ready for the shortest weekly training recap ever!

Mon-Wed, Fri: Rest due to a strained ankle. It was just as well considering that we were experiencing a huge heat wave, which made our apartment a zillion degrees (FACT)… which made me sleep very fitfully. Truth be told, I could have done some non-ankle exercises (e.g., core/abs) or stretching, but I was in a pitiful boo-hoo-woe-is-me state, so I opted for 100% rest.

20130505-190520.jpg

Margarita Monday: just what the doctor ordered.

Thurs: Went out for a test run. That didn’t work out so well.
Stats: ~0.6 miles run/walk

Sat: Brazen Western Pacific 5K! Recap coming soon…
Stats: 3.2 miles @ 9:56/mile; 4/41 AG, 87/384 overall

Sun: Ankle felt OK, so I decided to go for a run. If everything felt good, my goal was to run 2 laps around the lake (6-7 miles). The good news is that my ankle felt fine. The bad news is that I started to get side stitches after 2 miles. That and my general sense of fatigue/blah-ness aided in my decision to end the run after one lap. The best part? I finished my run at the taco truck! I’ve decided that every run should end at the taco truck.
Stats: 3.5 miles @ 10:34/mile + 30 min stretching

20130505-190505.jpg

I run for tacos and horchata! Delicious and a bargain at $5.50.

WEEKLY TOTAL: 7.3 miles + 30 min stretching
How I felt about it: Well, it is what it is. It was a low volume week, which was to be expected, but I’m trying not to stress out too much about it. The 5K went well and my ankle is feeling good. Hopefully, I’ll be making a slow and steady comeback this coming week! C.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Injuries, Training
12 comments on “Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 5
  1. Mike says:

    Sitting here amidst unpacked boxes while stealing wi-fi signals wherever we can, it’s good to know at least we’re not missing that early-season Bay Area heat spike that always rendered our place similarly unlivable for 2 or 3 days at a time.

    Glad to hear the ankle’s feeling better… I was just catching up on blog posts from this past week, so I found out about your ankle and your decision to run Western Pacific all at once. Probably a wise idea to downgrade from the 10K, since you’ve got bigger plans on the horizon that will definitely require two healthy ankles.

    Looking forward to the WP recap!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Mike. The heat wave was especially brutal in our new place — south-facing windows is a double-edged sword. I heard it was similarly hot in L.A.? But perhaps you guys had the nice ocean breeze (or maybe A/C!).

  2. I wouldn’t need any convincing to go out and do a run if there was a food truck at the end of it. I mean really. Glad your ankle is getting better!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Kate. As for food trucks… “food truck races” should be the next fad! Let’s go in on this together — I think we could be millionaires.

  3. Congrats on your race and age group placing!!

  4. Dominick S. says:

    7.3 miles…injuries suck! This may make you happy, you ran more than I did!

    • Jen says:

      No, it does not make me happy Dominick. Is your knee getting better, or about the same?

      • Dominick S. says:

        It’s getting better for sure. It just felt a little off all last week, yesterday it felt good and today it feels great, I jogged up a small set of stairs without thinking about it and then when I got to the top I remembered I wasn’t able to do that last week without feeling a little stress so that is a good sign. Is the ankle doing well after this weekends runs?

        • Jen says:

          My ankle actually feels better after this weekend’s runs, believe it or not. I’ve done the same thing as you- noticing little improvements like negotiating stairs better, i.e., things that seem minor until there’s a injury! Glad your knee is much improved!!

  5. Amy says:

    I will just focus on the positive: your ankle is not broken! And you ate some pretty amazing looking food last week!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
