Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 6

*SF2HM = San Francisco 2nd Half Marathon

Mon: 30 min stretching/rolling.

Tues: Easy run with KH and EH, who are back in town for a few weeks. I ran a mile to our meeting spot, ran with them for a lap around the Lake, then a mile back home. It was great to catch up with them! Plus, running with friends makes the miles fly by.
Stats: 5.3 miles @ 10:18/mile

Wed: Rode to and from work again. This time, I wore my bike shorts with padding — a much more comfortable ride, I must say.  In the evening, I went rock climbing with KE and LF. It was my first time back after the ankle incident, so I was a little nervous. Still, I managed to complete my first 5.10A! It wasn’t very pretty, but I felt like I made some significant strides.
Stats: 7.6 mile bike commute to/from work + 2 hours rock climbing.

Thurs: Back to good ol’ speed work. I decided to do high intensity interval training (HIIT). Last time, I did 10 x [1 min sprint + 1 min jog], which was REALLY tiring. This time, I decided to do 10 x [1 min sprint + 2 min jog], which was also tiring, but much more reasonable. As usual, I warmed-up and cooled-down about 1 mile on each side of the workout.

My splits (min/mile): 7:58, 7:46, 8:24, 8:04, 7:36, 8:04, 7:55, 8:09*, 8:15*, 7:55.
*headwind

This was a LOT better than the first time I did a HIIT workout. However, the two workouts aren’t comparable due to the different resting/jogging times. Still, I’ll take whatever “improvements” (real or not) I can get. One thing that I think helped was not looking at my Garmin at all during the sprints. I tend to psyche myself during speed work, letting the watch dictate my speed rather than the other way around. Or, I’ll start off faster than I think I “should” and talk myself into slowing down. Another thing I noticed is that my slowest interval (the third one) was also when I kinda zoned out. So it really does pay to focus!
Stats: 4.9 miles @ 10:18/mile

Fri: More climbing and more stretching! Another 5.10A in the bag.
Stats: 90 min rock climbing + 30 min stretching/rolling.

Sat: Second running date this week with KH and EH! I introduced them to the Lafayette Moraga Trail. My goal was to run 2 hours, regardless of distance. I knew from the start that this would be a slow slog because my legs were really heavy. It was also already fairly warm at 8:30 am. The 3 of us ran together for 5 miles, at which point EH turned around. KH and I ran to Moraga Commons, took a short stretching/water/gel break, then headed back toward Lafayette. Even though the return trip was downhill, it seemed much tougher. I know part of it was the heat, as I drank 2 handheld bottles worth of water during my run and 32 ounces of Gatorade right afterwards, and I was still super thirsty. However, most of my fatigue was probably due to the fact that I haven’t run longer than 10 miles since the Oakland Half in March! Oops. With only 5 weeks left to the SF2HM, I better get my long run fitness on!

I was feeling pretty down and out about not being in long run shape, until I went to a friend’s birthday party later in the afternoon. We were sitting around, talking about why we were feeling tired. When I said I ran 11 miles, everyone gasped. I was reminded that to non-runners, 11 miles is a long ways. And maybe I’m not in the best shape to *race* 13.1 miles, but at least I can run it and not be completely destroyed afterwards… and that’s something, right? I guess my point is that it’s easy to lose perspective of things. Once in a while, it’s a good idea to step out of the runner bubble and not get caught up in stuff that doesn’t matter. (I know, so deep!)
Stats: 11.25 miles @ 10:39/mile, ~550′ elevation gain + 30 min stretching/rolling

Sun: Walked to and from the grocery store with the Gypsy Runner in the morning. Easy activity + beautiful day + errand completed = trifecta.
Stats: 3 miles walking + 30 min stretching/rolling

WEEKLY TOTAL: 21.5 miles + ~7 hours climbing, biking, stretching, walking
How I felt about it: Almost back to 100% with my ankle. Happy with the non-running activities as well. The only negative was no core or strength work. B+.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
9 comments on “Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 6
  1. JS says:

    Yes, 11 miles is a lot for many of us. I think that’s twice as much as long as I’ve ever ran. 🙂

  2. Dominick S. says:

    The fact that you can bust out over 11 on a trail is pretty impressive, especially coming off an injury. I don’t think I could do that right now but I may try for 10 this weekend. Congrats on a full week of running!

  3. Angela says:

    I say 5 weeks is plenty of time. Keep it up & you will have a great race! 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Angela! It helps that I’ve decided to add another half to my race calendar in September. Now there’s less pressure to PR. 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    All things considered, an 11 mile run 5 weeks out is not bad at all (and even to runners, I think 11 miles is a lot of miles. I start having anxiety with any run over about 8 miles). Glad to hear that the ankle is pretty much not an issue anymore!

    • Jen says:

      I think you’re right about the 11 miles. I guess now that I’ve gone through marathon training, 11 miles seems so wimpy. But when I think back to my first 2 half marathons, the longest runs I did were 10 for the first one (just once) and 10, 11, and 13 miles for the second one.

      Yeah, I’m quite amazed and pleased that my ankle is almost 100%! I think it helped that I was already rehabbing it from before.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
