Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 7

*SF2HM = San Francisco 2nd Half Marathon

Mon: Rest.

Tues: I decided it was time to add some minor elevation gains to my usually easy Tuesday morning run. I ran up Trestle Glen and did 3 hill repeats at the top (hard effort to the top, jog down, rest for ~1 min). My legs were still a little tired from the week before, so things felt sluggish, but I kept reminding myself that, “The hills pay the bills!”
Stats: 6.3 miles @ 10:53/mile, ~311′ elevation gain + 30 min stretching/rolling

Wed: 7.6 mile bike commute to/from work + 60 min PT exercises/stretching/rolling

Thurs: Tempo run with progression by effort, which you can read about here.
Stats: 6 miles @ 9:23/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Fri: 90 min rock climbing

Sat: My soft goal was to run 12 miles in 2 hours. I made it with 24 seconds to spare. 🙂 My other goal was to do a progression run by effort, starting slow-ish and ramp up. I actually did OK on that too, starting with 10:29 for mile 1 and ending with 9:33 for mile 12, but kinda all over the place in between. I had some GI issues at the start, and am beginning to rethink taking a Gu 15-min before my long runs, which I’ve done 2 weeks in a row without much luck. Anyone else have experience with this? I seem to be okay taking fuel once the run starts, so maybe I should just do that.

View of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge from Cesar Chavez Park at the Berkeley Marina.

View of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge from Cesar Chavez Park at the Berkeley Marina. Gorgeous day for a run!

Stats: 12 miles @ 9:58/mile + ~40 min biking around town

Sun: Lazy Sunday. Woke up to this:

Time to wake up!

Time to wake up!

Stats: 30 min stretching/rolling

WEEKLY TOTAL: 24.3 miles + ~5.5 hours climbing, biking, stretching.
How I felt about it: Really solid running week with lots of quality miles. Still skipping core work, which I need to amend this week. A-

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
7 comments on “Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 7
  1. Cathryn says:

    Your cat is nearly as gorgeous as mine!!!! I’m especially impressed by the hill work as well!

  2. Ugh…I never do core.

  3. Dominick S. says:

    Fuel is tricky, I haven’t been as diligent with my fueling pre or post race as I should. I seem to think that if I can run without it then when I do end up using it I will see more of a benefit but that is probably stupid because my body needs the energy even I don’t feel like it at the moment. I use to take half a GU before anything more than 4 miles and then the half mid run…lately I have been tossing some Jelly Belly’s in my pocket and eating one a mile…not sure that is enough. Great week!

    • Jen says:

      Well, it sounds like if you haven’t bonked hardcore, then you’re doing something right! I might also switch to a different gel. I’ve heard good things about Hammer gels… which has the added bonus of puns (“Here comes the Hammer!” and “Hammer Time!”).

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
  • I love my sisters. They give me their honest opinions with my best interest at heart - even if it's not always the "nicest" thing. 2 hours ago
  • @emmyjane1 For me it was the grandma and whenever she did anything brave 😭 9 hours ago
  • @reallyhillary Yeah, I think I will run in my neighborhood instead of driving somewhere. Maybe run/walk if I'm not feeling great. Thanks! 1 day ago
  • I'm sick (feeling ok but congested). Should I: 1 day ago
  • RT @IjeomaOluo: Y'all. I've never tweeted anything else where so many dudes clamored up to be exhibit a https://t.co/fJGtzkRrRY 2 days ago
Archives
Categories
