Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 10

*SF2HM = San Francisco 2nd Half Marathon

T minus 7 days ’til race day!

Mon: Rest.

Tues: Met up with DD for a conversational/easy run around the Lake.
Stats: 5.2 miles @ 10:25/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Wed: 7.6 miles bike commute + 3+ miles leisurely walk to dinner with the Gypsy Runner.

Thurs: One last set of the dreaded mile repeats before race day! Planned workout: warm-up 1 mi, 3 x (1 mile with 0.25 mi rest), and cool-down for remainder.

Actual workout:
– w/u @ 10:37
– 3 miles @ 8:28, 8:32, 8:49*
– c/d @10:58
*I blame a spontaneous bloody nose for the relative slowness of this mile.

I last ran mile repeats ~ 8 weeks ago. My average pace was roughly the same, but: (1) they’re slightly more consistent toward the faster pace (vs. 8:22, 8:43, 8:43); and (2) I ran a longer rest interval 8 weeks ago compared to today (0.5 mi vs 0.25).
Stats: 6 miles @ 9:47/mile + 30 min stretching/rolling

Fri: Yoga and stretching in the morning (45 min). More leisurely walking around town with the Gypsy Runner in the evening (~4 miles).

Sat: Rest.

Sun: Last long of this training cycle, so I thought long and hard about where I wanted to run. I decided on the Lafayette-Moraga Trail, since there is a consistent incline for the first 5 miles, just like SF2HM, only steeper. My general goals were to run faster than I did 4 weeks ago when I ran with KH and EH, and to pick up the effort/pace in the last 3 miles.

I got up early enough to beat the crowds and the sun, and also managed to run in relatively cool temps for Moraga (low 60’s). I kept a moderate pace for the first 8.5 miles (avg ~10:05 pace), then pushed it to medium-hard for 2 miles (9:26, 9:21), and hardest for the last 0.75 (8:57 pace). I finished the run almost 9 minutes faster than I did 4 weeks ago, which felt great. On one hand, it was daunting to think about how I’d need to run 2 more miles in less than 9 minutes to break 2 hours next week. On the other hand, the elevation profile for today’s run was even more elevation gain than I had thought. Look at this fancy superimposed graph I made of today’s run (in green) and the SF2HM elevation chart (in purple):

SF2HM vs Laf MoragaThe first hill for SF2HM looks steep-ish, but it’s eery how similar the slopes are from miles 1.5 to 3.5 between the two graphs. OK, I’ll stop geeking out about the graphs now. Basically, it was a great run, especially in the confidence-boosting department. Just what I needed before mini-taper.

Two other notes: I also wanted to try out a new gel and a possible race day outfit. I’ve tried Hammer Nutrition’s chocolate and apple cinnamon flavors, and I found both to be very palatable. The raspberry flavor, on the other hand, was sickly sweet and seemed really hard to swallow. I don’t usually have trouble taking gels, but I had to take a sip of water with every “bite” of gel. It got to the point where I was worried that I was going to drink too much water and that it’d be sloshing around my stomach. In other words, Hammer raspberry gel = gross.

The race outfit I wanted to try was also a fail. Basically, I had the same “lactating” sweat pattern that I did last week, only with a different sports bra. So at this point, I’m going to have to blame it on the Lululemon tank top (I think it’s the cool racerback in the Luon fabric, but I’m not 100% sure). Sadly, I think this tank will be relegated to short races or runs where I get completely drenched in either sweat or rain or both. Or maybe one where there are no race photographers! (Yes, I’m that vain.)

It kinda looks like a face, huh?

It kinda looks like a face, huh?

Stats: 11.25 miles @ 9:54/mile, ~550′ elevation gain + 30 min stretching/rolling

WEEKLY TOTAL: 22.5 miles + ~6 hours biking, walking, and stretching.
How I felt about it: A very good week. I’m ready to “taper”, which will consist of short, easy runs interspersed with strides. B+.

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
12 comments on “Weekly training recap: SF2HM Week 10
  1. Cathryn says:

    Your chart is seriously impressive. I LOVE the science twist you put on your running!! I just worry about my playlist! I think we need a photo of the lactating. (That is the most cringe-y word, too).

    • Jen says:

      Glad you like the chart. 🙂 By popular request (by you and the GR), I’ve added the photo of curious sweat pattern. Enjoy!

  2. Sherry says:

    I think your graph is neat too! It must have been a confidence booster to do, as the SF2HM hill is only half the size!
    Re the top – maybe you can exchange it for another colour, a darker one might be better, or even a long sleeve version that you could wear in winter? As a clothing designer I don’t really think this one is fit for purpose, even if LL do tell us to sweat once a day!
    Hope the rest of your training/taper goes well!

  3. I’m dumbfounded by your sweat patterns! I’m even more dumbfounded that you can do trail runs and kill it. Keep it up girl!

    • Jen says:

      Ha, thanks Kate. Also, I’m going to stop calling this path a “trail” because Dominick also thought it was a trail run last time I posted about it. It’s actually a paved mutli-use path which is much easier to run on than trails!

  4. Angela says:

    Lol…..I don’t know whether the “sad face” sweat pattern is horrible or awesome!

    (BTW, I *totally* geek out about elevation profiles & actual steepness vs. steepness perception….Y’know; math teacher.)

    • Jen says:

      I think the sweat pattern is both horrible AND awesome. 🙂
      Elevation and steepness perception is very interesting to me as well. I wish that my Garmin could spit out the % incline data, and then calculate it into the total effort for the run. It would be a better indication of overall fitness than just looking at pace and distance.

  5. Dominick S. says:

    Yeah, choose terms wisely here Jen…Trail implies dirt, you’re misleading your readers into thinking your a total badass as opposed to just a badass. Anyway, that boob-sweat face is awesome, I say embrace it and just draw an outline so that way when it sweats in, it looks like a planned work of art.

    You’re runnerd status grows with every post and this graph propels you into the pantheon. Good news is that this weeks race will be a cake walk in comparison to what you have been training on.

    • Jen says:

      YES! I’ve always wanted to reach the pantheon of runnerd status, and now I’ve finally achieved it. I also thought about making the tank top into something more deliberate… or just pouring water all over me at one of the early aid stations. Woohoo, wet tank top contest!

  6. Kira says:

    Good luck with the SF2HM, Jen! I may be running the Woodminster race that day, though I’m a little nervous after reading your recap. Let me know if you want to go on a leisurely recovery run next week! I will tell you all about my latest half-marathon experience, where I chafed in places I did not know could chafe (lucky you).

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 3 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
