Adventures in Yosemite

I feel like I’ve been living in a Northern California Tourism Bureau commercial for the past couple of months, with the low-tide hike in Point Reyes, backpacking in the Ventana Wilderness, and running through the streets of San Francisco. This past Thursday to Sunday, we camped in Tuolumne Meadows, the easternmost part of Yosemite National Park, and it was GORGEOUS. Even though this was my one recovery week between SF2HM and Marine Corps Marathon (MCM) training cycles, I chose to spend it hiking almost 20 challenging miles and sleeping in near-freezing temperatures. As the kids say, YOLO.

Here are some of the highlights from the trip:

IMG_8269

On our hike to Elizabeth Lake, we came upon this lovely scene. Isn’t it the very definition of picturesque?

IMG_8272

Elizabeth Lake, with Unicorn Peak (right).

IMG_8299

We hiked 7.5+ miles up to Clouds Rest, and we were rewarded with this view…

... and this view of Half Dome.

… and this view of Half Dome.

The Clouds Rest crew.

The Clouds Rest crew.

Clouds Rest peak.

Clouds Rest peak.

The pile of rocks that composes the foot path to Clouds Rest. Not for the faint of heart.

The pile of rocks that composes the foot path to Clouds Rest. Not for the faint of heart.

Hiking back down from Clouds Rest among the sequoias.

Hiking back down from Clouds Rest among the sequoias.

IMG_8366

Tioga Pass

Mono Lake/ South Tufa

Mono Lake/ South Tufa

Tenaya Lake, where we swam and sunbathed.

Tenaya Lake, where we swam and sunbathed.

Not too shabby...

Not too shabby…

Cheers!

Cheers!

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in random
17 comments on “Adventures in Yosemite
  1. Dominick S. says:

    Looks pretty awesome!

  2. Cathryn says:

    Looks GORGEOUS. I didn’t think nights would be that cold – we’re camping this weekend and next week as well. Might be time to bring out my UK layers 🙂

  3. BT says:

    AWESOME! Thanks for sharing the pics.

  4. JS says:

    Thanks for sharing. Last time we went to Yosemite was before the kids…..Hiking is not Ben’s thing though…..

  5. Erin says:

    You’re killing me! I miss California so much after looking at these pics. You are super cute in your campsite hoodie!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Erin. 🙂 California misses you too! Though I have to admit that I miss NC once in a while… especially the beaches. *sigh*

  6. Those pictures are freakin’ stunning. For real. I’m moving.

  7. vttrailgirl says:

    Incredible photos. I would def. love a part two or three to this post. NorCal is one of my favorite places.

    • Jen says:

      I have enough photos to make 10 posts! Unfortunately, there’s only so much free space on WordPress, or I’d definitely make a little slide show.

  8. SBJ says:

    OMG, so beautiful! How fun. Haven’t been to Yosemite since my teenager was in DIAPERS. I jumped into a river from a fallen tree!

  9. How cow, stunning!! Remind me why I live in the middle of the corn again???

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
