MCM Week 1 & 2013 Quarterly Recap #2

I’ve been thinking for a while that my weekly training recaps were getting a bit stale. What better time to change things up than at the start of a new training cycle? Basically, I’ll highlight 1-2 runs per week here on the blog, but I’ll continue to post more detailed info from each run on DailyMile. Hope y’all like the new format! Without further ado, here’s what I did last week (“planned” workout in green/“actual” in bold):

Monday: Rest.
Tues: 3/3.2
Wed: 5/5
Thurs: 3/3.2
Fri: Rest.
Sat: 5 @ marathon pace/9.2 with ~520′ elevation gain. I switched around my runs on Saturday and Sunday to accommodate my weekend plans. I traded flat and exposed (Bay Trail) for hilly and partially shaded (Piedmont). I think it would’ve definitely worked to my advantage had I gotten out the door earlier than I did. (Note to self: 9:00 a.m. is way too late to be starting a run when there is a heat wave!) Because of the heat, I made sure to carry my 22 oz Nathan belt, with which I have a love/hate relationship. I love its roominess, but hate that I look like such a dork wearing it! (see photo below) I guess that’s the price one pays for proper hydration. *Sigh* Anyway, I also wore a heart rate monitor (HRM; thanks RC for letting me borrow it!) to make sure I didn’t overexert myself. It was tough to keep my HR down in the heat! I was supposed to run 10 miles, but when I ran past my house at ~9 miles, I decided to call it a day.

I know what you're thinking... "Jen is SOOOO COOL."

I know what you’re thinking… “Jen is SOOOO COOL.”

Sun: 10/5 mi on trails, ~1000′ elevation gain. With the Skirt n Dirt 25K in less than 2 months, I need to get some serious hill running into my routine. I decided to face my long-standing nemesis – the Woodmonster (French + Madrone Trails at Redwood Regional Park). I knew it wouldn’t be pretty, and it wasn’t. I attempted to do 10 seconds of jogging followed with 10 seconds of walking up the hill… which ended up being 10 seconds of walking alternating with 5 seconds of huffing, puffing, and cursing the Woodmonster. At least there was plenty of shade!

Perks of trail running: beautiful views like these.

Perks of trail running: beautiful views like these.

It was also my first run in the Altra Lone Peaks. They felt great from the start, no hot spots or any discomfort, though I did catch my left toe 4 times and actually fell once. The price one pays for that extra roomy toebox, I’m afraid. Luckily, I didn’t suffer any injuries. I’ll have to a bit more careful about picking up my feet, especially on the downhills (where all 4 stumbles occurred).

The Lone Peak after the first run

The Lone Peaks after the first run.

Wrap-Up: 26 miles/25.6 total. One week down, 17 to go! I felt good this week, and tried my best to temper my desire to run faster or longer than what was planned. The HRM has been useful for that. While I have had to slow down somewhat to be in the aerobic base zone, it’s not as dramatic as I had feared. Anyway, I’ll be writing a post on HR monitoring this week to talk more about its purpose and my experience with it so far.

Running went well this week, but I need to get back to core, strengthening, and cross-training. Oh, and speed work too! I’ve got a 10K coming up next month, and I feel a PR coming on!!

Do you wear a HRM? Do you find it useful?

***

Today is the last day of June, and you know what that means: 2013 Quarterly Recap #2! Here’s where I am with the goals I made for 2013:

1. Run a sub-2 half marathon. Ugh, I don’t want to talk about it. Just kidding…sort of. I know a sub-2 half is just around the corner, but this year’s 2 half marathons have been pretty disappointing. I have one last chance in September (Zoom Point Pinole), which I’m very optimistic about, considering that my endurance will be super awesome by that point (hopefully), thanks to marathon training.

2. Run a trail 30K. 25K will suffice — I’m running the Skirt N’ Dirt trail race on 8/31.

3. Run marathon #2. Marine Corps Marathon on 10/27.

4. Volunteer at a race (or a few races). I’ve signed up to volunteer at the Zoom Quarry Lakes on 7/13 and the Brazen Bad Bass on 7/27. I’ll let you know how that goes!

5. Have a more focused race schedule. 4 races in 6 months, which I consider a success. I definitely don’t feel like I’m burnt out on racing, like I was at this time last year. Yay!

6. Run more miles than I did in 2012 (850 miles). So far, I’ve run 548 miles in 2013. I’m definitely on track to beat 850 miles… especially since my marathon training plan calls for about 640 miles. I should be solidly past 1000 by year’s end. Woot!

7. Come up with a more concrete strengthening and cross-training plan and stick with it. I was doing a lot of indoor rock climbing for a while, but that’s tapered off a bit now that the Gypsy Runner isn’t a member of the gym. Something to work on!

8. Roll and stretch before and after every run. I’ve been really great about this *most*, it not all of the time, which I think is plenty good.

9. Get to the bottom of this ankle issue. Much improved, but then I hurt it again a couple of months ago. I’ve been lazy about my ankle exercises lately, so I need to return to those.

10. Blog goal: get back to reviewing gear. I wrote a review about the Altra Superior (yay!), but I have a lot of other stuff to write about too (boo!).

Did you set running goals for 2013? How’s your progress?

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Goals, MCM, Training
16 comments on “MCM Week 1 & 2013 Quarterly Recap #2
  1. Hillary says:

    That sub-2 is RIGHT THERE. You’ll nail it in 2013. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, that is one serious hill!

    Love your list of goals. Good luck!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Jan! It really is a crazy big hill! I might have to face 3 of those come 8/31, so I might as well train for them…

  3. Cathryn says:

    The view from the top of the hill is spectacular – so the climb must have been horrible! Nice work on the week’s training and on your goals so far. I need to volunteer at a race – probably in the Autumn realistically!

    • Jen says:

      Ha, actually, the photo was taken at the beginning of the run before I descended and came back up. But generally, your comment is right — it was a horrible climb.

      I’m volunteering for these two so I can run two races for free. πŸ™‚

  4. You do look pretty rad with that belt. I kid because I’m going to have to bite the bullet sooner or later – or risk death by dehydration in this God forsaken Southern heat.

    My current goals? Start training… Yikes!

    • Jen says:

      Yeah, you might want to skip the belt and go straight for the hydration vest! At least it looks a bit cooler… and you can probably pass as an ultra marathoner too (at least it’s runner cred, even if you don’t look cool to the average person).

  5. Dominick S. says:

    You’re going to be super ripped at the end of this year…but it won’t matter because that nerd lasso will distract everyone from seeing the big picture. Just kidding…I bought a belt but can’t use it, the bouncing is way too much for me to tolerate so I will be hiding bottles on my routes again this summer.

  6. Mike says:

    Wow, quite a 4-month stretch you have lined up! Hopefully it’ll pay off and you’ll be well-prepared by the time MCM rolls around.

    So why the Lone Peak? Is it a replacement for the Superior, or did you just decide you like the “running duck” look? (just kidding, just kidding!).

    • Jen says:

      Haha. I actually really like the way they look, and more importantly, the Gypsy Runner thinks they’re cute too. I got the Lone Peaks because of the more aggressive tread. Plus they were on clearance on The Clymb for $69 — I just couldn’t pass up such a great deal. I’m still loving the Superiors, and I’m wearing them on all terrains/surfaces. The Lone Peak will be a dedicated trail shoe.

  7. Amy says:

    I have a Nathan’s belt too, so I will consider myself equally cool! You’re doing so well on your goals. Good luck with marathon training! Reading about all of these marathon training kick-offs is making me antsy.

    • Jen says:

      We are both too cool for school, obvs.
      Re: marathon training — don’t you have that crazy hilly race to train for? The one that looks way harder than 99% of marathons?

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
