Marine Corps Marathon Week 12

6 weeks to go until MCM! Can you smell the anticipation?

This week was a cut-back week, but with a twist — I had a half marathon scheduled for Saturday. So, I ended up cutting a couple of miles from my weekday runs in order to “taper” for the race. Here’s what I did this week (“planned” in green/“actual” in bold):

Monday: Rest or cross-training/rest. One of these days, I will actually do some cross-training.

Tues: 5/4. My body felt OK… until I started running. Recovery run!

Wed: 6/5. Despite the tired legs, I decided to do a heart rate (HR) test. My lactate threshold HR dropped by 10 bpm since my first test in late June… which means that my heart has to work less hard to attain the same effort level. Yay for progress! I added some strides for pseudo speedwork.

Thurs: 5/5.2. With a half marathon coming up on Saturday, I thought it might be a good idea to throw in a couple of race-pace miles (~9 min/mile). However, my body was not having it. It didn’t help that I had eaten refried beans and enchiladas the night before. No bueno! I ended up doing one faster-ish mile at 9:20 and the rest at pitiful speed. Womp womp!

Fri: Rest or cross-training/rest. Carb loading!

Sat: 12/13 @ Zoom Pt Pinole Half Marathon.
This half marathon was not what I expected. It was 12.95 miles instead of 13.1 and had ~650′ elevation gain instead of 380′ (as advertised). I also hadn’t realized how hard it would be to run on crushed rock/gravel, which made up 80% of the terrain. Nevertheless, it was great for my mental game and I had so much fun racing with Cathryn and bt. The recap will be up soon, but for now, here are the numbers:
time: 2:00:01 (9:14/mile)
6/19 AG, 13/54 F, 35/91 overall

bt, me, and Cathryn with our hard-earned medals!

bt, me, and Cathryn with our hard-earned medals!

Sun: 6/6.8. Easy recovery run.

Wrap-Up: 34 miles/34 total. I felt like I spent a majority of this week recovering — either from last week’s 50 miles, or from Saturday’s race. I’m looking forward to a few more focused runs this coming week — another 50 mile week!

Bonus pic of snuggly kitty. Just because.

Bonus pic of snuggly kitty. Just because.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in MCM, Training
10 comments on “Marine Corps Marathon Week 12
  1. Oh that’s anticipation I’m smelling? I thought it was just the ripe smell of my ever-dirty running clothes…

    Congrats on your run! Gravel bites, but great pace! I have a half coming up in two weeks – when you run one now, does it feel like it flies by? Now that I’m up in the 20 mile runs, I was curious if 13 would feel way short. At least, that’s what I’m hoping…

    • Jen says:

      Ha, yes, I was going to make a similar joke about smelly race clothes, but decided not to, so I’m glad somebody did!

      Both yes and no on the 13 miles feeling shorter. If you’re running hard, it’s still going to feel interminable. However, I was able to motivate by telling myself that 13 miles was nothing compared to the kind of mileage I’ve been running.

  2. Marcia says:

    WOw 6 more weeks–time flies! I ran MCM last year and it was awesome….maybe my favorite. All the best with your training!

  3. Hillary says:

    Gravel is the worst!!! That being said, way to kill it on a tough course! Oh, and uhhh NBD on crushing biology. Take that, lactate threshold!

  4. Dominick S. says:

    Lactate threshold, BPM…(pushes glasses up)…we have the technology to rebuild her. NERD. Just kidding, sort of, you’re such a data freak its awesome. Great job on the half, after the marathon is over you should find a half about a month or so away and crush that 2 hours on a normal course!

    • Jen says:

      Dude, I’m a scientist so I will ALWAYS be a nerd. As for running a half after MCM – the only one I could find that fits my schedule is Big Sur, and you already know that’s not happening (even though I was mightily tempted).

  5. Tammy says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great! It’s almost here.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
