Marine Corps Marathon Week 13

Lucky #13? Maybe so! Before I dive into marathon training, I wanted to give a special shout-out to KH who finished the Jackson Hole Marathon today — her very first! What’s astonishing/amazing is that she started training about 3 weeks ago (kids, don’t try this at home). As someone who is 13 weeks into a 18-week marathon training cycle, I am a little envious of such a short training cycle, but I also know that I personally would suffer mightily during and after the marathon with only 3 weeks of training. So kudos to you, KH!

Here’s what I did this week in marathon training land (“planned” workout in green/“actual” in bold):

Monday: Rest or cross-training/rest.

Tues: 5/5. Easy run. Nothing special.

Wed: 10/10 miles including 8 x 800 m. I’m working my way up to a full set of Yasso 800’s (10 x 800). I averaged 4:16 for the set, 6 seconds slower compared to 2 weeks ago. However, I felt more consistent and in control. I definitely tapped into some of the mental toughness that I learned from Point Pinole to get me through this workout. Not to make excuses, but I had to dodge a lot of pedestrian traffic around the lake, so next time I’m definitely doing this workout on the track!

Thurs: 5/5. Super easy jog without the Garmin or HRM.

Fri: Rest or cross-training/rest. Ladies night in, where we watched Dirty Dancing and Magic Mike. Woot!

Sat: 10 @ marathon pace/10 @ MP (average 9:48/mile). I went down to the South Bay to meet up with TC and FL. My goal was 10 miles at MP, which I randomly assigned to be ~9:45-10:00/mile. T was having a bit of a rough time and told F and I to run ahead. I had a great time chatting with F, whom I’ve only met once before. I was very happy to have a slight negative split overall — our 1st mile was 10:06, miles 2-8 were around 9:50-10:00, and then the last 2 miles were at 9:30 and 9:32. I felt very strong – definitely a confidence boosting run!

We ran by the Vasona Reservoir -- scenic, huh?

We ran by the Vasona Reservoir — scenic, huh?

Afterwards, I met up with AW in her new neighborhood for some delicious crepes and quality catching up time.

Yay for quality time with old friends.

Yay for quality time and good food with old friends!

Sun: 20/20. For my 2nd 20-miler of this cycle, I decided to trek over to the Iron Horse Trail, a 24-mile paved path that cuts through the suburbs of Contra Costa County. The main thing that the IHT has going for it is that it’s relatively red-light free and almost flat as a pancake. I plugged in the audiobook du jour (Bossypants by Tina Fey) and trucked along to pretty even splits. To shake things up, I practiced 1 minute pick-ups or surges at the beginning of miles 15-19. Then I picked up the effort for mile 20, dropping my average pace down to 10:01 from the ~10:50 average of the first 19 miles. As I’ve always struggled with pacing in the last few miles of my 20-mile runs, I’d say this was a success.

Besides being bored by the scenery, I had very little complaints about this run. My feet started to ache towards the end, and I came home to discover a couple of spots of chafing due to my new sports bra. My 2nd toenail on my right foot is feeling a bit tender too, but I realize that these are all minor aches ad pains, and for that, I’m very grateful.

Post-run refueling! Eggs, chorizo, and potatoes with rice and beans.

Post-run refueling! Eggs, chorizo, and potatoes with rice and beans.

Wrap-Up: 50 miles/50total. Well, folks, I’ve done it again — another 50 mile week in the books! Entering this week, the fact that I’ve completed 50 miles previously helped me to add some confidence-boosting “flair” to my runs this week. I feel ready to take on MCM! However, I still have 5 weeks to go… patience, young grasshopper.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in MCM, Training
11 comments on “Marine Corps Marathon Week 13
  1. Cathryn says:

    Can’t fathom the idea of 50 miles in a week…you’re amazing! Sad I didn’t get to run with you guys at the weekend, and glad you didn’t get rained on! We got VERY rained on 🙂

    • Jen says:

      You know, when I saw the forecast, I didn’t realize that it was going to rain that hard. Sorry you got drenched – but sounds like you made the most of it. 🙂

  2. Hillary says:

    Kickass week! The fact that you can rock a 10mi pacing run the day before rocking out on a 20-miler suggests to me that you are ready to take some serious names at MCM. I’m getting really excited for you!!!

  3. BT says:

    This is a beast of a week! Well done. You are going to crush MCM.

  4. Dominick S. says:

    Dirty Dancing and Magic Mike… uh…nm.

    How many 20 milers do you have in this cycle???? I have two, but my first one is this weekend. Your program is nuts. Congrats on killing 50 miles.

    PS – I am having chaffing issues this time around too…WTF. Mine are also on my sides from my arm band…I am assuming its the tank/singlet thing I have been wearing due to the heat but I am monitoring it closely because man it’s an annoying pain.

    • Jen says:

      I’ve got another one of these 50-mile weeks and then I taper. I cannot tell you how much I’m looking forward to that!

      Yes, the chafing has GOT TO STOP. I’m tempted to bring the Body Glide with me on long runs just so I can reapply.

  5. FL says:

    It was awesome running with you this past weekend! Congrats on successfully completing a high mileage week, especially back-to-back long runs. Looking forward to running with you again soon!

  6. Amy says:

    50 MILES! Always excited to hear about people reaching that 20 mile mark. It’s really the first moment (for me, anyway) that I really start to feel like I can tackle the marathon distance.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
