3rd Quarter Recap

I can’t believe it’s already October! That means it’s time to check in again to see how I’m doing with the running goals I set at the beginning of this year. Let’s get to it:

1. Run a sub-2 half marathon. Status: Incomplete.
I came close at SF2HM and at Point Pinole, but not close enough. Without any more half marathons on the calendar for 2013, this goal will have to wait until 2014. After being very eager to break 2-hours for over a year, I find myself surprisingly not that bummed about missing this goal. I’ve become very zen about it — it’s going to happen when it’s going to happen.

2. Run a trail 30K. Status: Done.
Skirt ‘n’ Dirt 25K. Yeah, I was 5K short, but did I mention the 2900′ elevation gain?

Skirt n' Dirt finisher! With my medal and wine glass.

3. Run marathon #2. Status: Pending.
Marine Corps Marathon coming up in 25 days! Just got my bib number today – wheeee!

4. Volunteer at a race (or a few races). Status: Done.
I mentored middle and high school students through Running for a Better Oakland in the spring and volunteered at two races in July.

Volunteering as a sweeper for Brazen's Bad Bass race in July.

Volunteering as a sweeper for Brazen’s Bad Bass race in July.

5. Have a more focused race schedule. Status: Done.
7 races so far with 2 more left on the calendar — a big improvement over last year’s 16.

6. Run more miles than I did in 2012. Status: Done.
In 2012, I ran 850 miles. In 2013, I’ve run about 985 and counting.

Setting new monthly mileage records with MCM training.

Setting new monthly mileage records with MCM training.

7. Come up with a more concrete strengthening and cross-training plan and stick with it.  Status: Incomplete.
Aack. Still struggling with this!

8. Roll and stretch before and after every run. Status: Done.
Maybe not after every run, but I stretch and roll for 30-45 minutes about 5 times a week.

9. Get to the bottom of this ankle issue. Status: Done?
Hm, this goal was so vague, I’m not sure if I’ve accomplished it or not. I haven’t been very diligent about doing my physical therapy exercises, but I also haven’t had the stiffness and swelling that I had last year. So, success without me doing anything?

10. Blog goal: get back to reviewing gear.  Status: Incomplete.
Besides one post on Altra Superiors, I’ve been very bad about this goal even though I have tons of stuff to write about.

20130930-155504.jpg

Sad that this is my third pair of Merrell Pace Gloves, and I have yet to write a review. Blargh.

Summary: 6 out of 10 ain’t bad. Plus, I’ve got a few more months to work on the rest.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Goals
8 comments on “3rd Quarter Recap
  1. Cathryn says:

    I really love that skirt n dirt photo of you 🙂 And my mind is officially blown by your past two months’ mileage. You are a machine.

  2. Dominick S. says:

    Maybe you should find a flat half marathon a few weeks after the MCM so you can crush that sub 2. You’re year of running is going fantastic, 4 weeks to MCM!

    • Dominick S. says:

      Ughh…it is early, please forgive my “YOU’RE” and replace it with “YOUR”.

      • Jen says:

        Ha, happens to the best of us!

        As for half marathon post-MCM — the only one that fits my schedule is Big Sur, which I’m not going to run for a plethora of reasons (too expensive, far enough that I’d have to book a hotel, don’t know anyone else running it…) I’ve already got my eye on two flat, fast half marathons in February though, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 2 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
