2013 Year of Running, Part 2

Welcome to Part 2 of my 2013 recap! (Part 1 is here.)  Some of you might remember that I set some running goals for 2013.  How did I do?

1. Run a sub-2 half marathon. Status: Not completed.
Whomp whomp.

2. Run a trail 30K. Status: Completed (mostly).
Skirt ‘n’ Dirt 25K. It was 5K short of 30K, but did I mention the 2900′ elevation gain?

3. Run marathon #2. Status: Completed.
Marine Corps Marathon.

4. Volunteer at a race (or a few races). Status: Completed.
I mentored middle and high school students through Running for a Better Oakland in the spring and volunteered at two races in July.

5. Have a more focused race schedule. Status: Completed.
10 races — vs. 16 in 2012.  More importantly, I never felt burnt out.

6. Run more miles than I did in 2012. Status: Completed.
In 2012, I ran 850 miles. In 2013, I ran 1310!  Am I allowed to say that I’m impressed with myself? Because I am.

7. Come up with a more concrete strengthening and cross-training plan and stick with it.  Status: Not completed.
I resolve to make more clear-cut goals than this one in 2014.

8. Roll and stretch before and after every run. Status: ~Completed.
I do a short set of stretches after every run, and have consistently stretched and rolled about 5 times a week at 30 min/session.

9. Get to the bottom of this ankle issue. Status: Completed?
Again, another vague goal.  I haven’t had ankle soreness for most of the year, and it’s much less swollen than it used to be.  Counting it as a completed goal.

10. Blog goal: get back to reviewing gear.  Status: Completed.
This year, I’ve written about Altra Superiors, hydration packs/bottles, and even podcasts.  It’s not as many reviews as I wanted to write, but I think it’s good enough.

Summary: 8 out of 10 complete!  Woot woot! 🙂

**

Last year, I recapped the year with running stats, highlights, and low points.  Here’s the same format for 2013:

Miles: 1310
Races: 10 (5K: 2, 10K: 1, 10-miler: 1, half marathon: 4, 25K: 1, marathon: 1; 6 road vs. 4 trail races)
Miles raced: 116.5
PRs:
– 5K – 26:16 @ LMJS Couples Relay (Feb); 9 seconds faster than previous PR
– 10K – 52:51 @ Summer Breeze (Aug); almost 4 minutes faster than previous PR
Age Group Awards: 2 (3rd at Summer Breeze, 3rd at Mt. Diablo)

Highlights:
– Exploring new trails all around the Bay Area, especially my runs with Cathryn at Lake Chabot, Huddart/Wunderlich, Marin, and Briones.
– Pushing my limits at the Skirt n Dirt 25K – probably my toughest race yet.
– Completing a high-mileage (for me) marathon training plan.
– Surviving this year without any significant injuries (knock on wood).
– PR’ing by almost 4 minutes at the Summer Breeze 10K.
– Mentoring Alejandro through RBO to help him complete his first half marathon.

Low points:
– Putting too much pressure on myself at the Oakland, SF, and Pt. Pinole half marathons to run a sub-2, which significantly decreased my enjoyment of those races.
Marine Corps Marathon: bonking, only getting to see the Gypsy Runner once, and a disappointing finish.  It made me realize how charmed my first marathon experience was at CIM last year, despite the monsoon.

When I look back on 2013, I’m really grateful that my body was healthy and strong enough to carry me through all of the miles and races.  I didn’t set as many PRs as I did in 2012, but I attained many other goals along the way.  I continue to learn so much about myself through running, and I’m looking forward to more adventures in 2014.  Here’s to a happy and healthy new year!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Goals
8 comments on “2013 Year of Running, Part 2
  1. What a great year you’ve had! I’d say a trail 25k w/ that elevation definitely counts. Happy 2014! 🙂

  2. Dominick S. says:

    So many good things in this post! 1310 miles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I want to put a page of exclamation points, thats insane) Seriously though, I think the last two sentences sum up 2013 the best…on to 2014.

  3. Congrats on all of the successes this year! I understand the frustration of putting so much pressure on yourself to break 2 hours in the half and end up not enjoying the race. That just means that when you do accomplish that goal, it’s going to feel even better!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks! Yes, I totally agree about the frustration = greater feeling of accomplishment. I hope to follow in your footsteps and crush 2 hours soon!

  4. […] As y’all know, I’m a data nerd, so no year-end summary would be complete without #ALLTHENUMBERS. (Here are the stats from 2012 and 2013.) […]

  5. […] new year. Also, since I’m a numbers nerd, I like to look back at previous years (see 2012, 2013, & 2014) to compare stats like mileage and races. So, without further […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
