Honing In (Kaiser Week 3)

Hope 2014 is off to a great start for everyone! Here’s how my week went down:

Mon: Yoga + easy biking.
Got my butt out of bed for the 7:30 a.m. class.  I liked the instructor and the class was the best so far – a nice mix of stretching and strengthening.  Plus, I earned bonus smug points by biking to and from the class, about 3 miles round trip.

Tues: Threshold run + stairs.
Workout: Warm-up, 5 mile cut-down (starting at 9:30/mile and dropping 10 seconds with each mile), jog 4 x Cleveland Cascade, cool-down.
Splits: 9:28, 9:20, 9:10, 9:03, 8:46 (avg 9:09)
The stairs at the end were tough, but I’m glad I did it.
7.3 miles @ 9:35/mile + 4x Cleveland Cascade

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Thurs: Timed mile at the track.
As you might know, one of my 2014 running goals is to run a timed mile once a month (at least), so this was my first stab at it.  The last time I ran a timed mile was a year and a half ago, which I ran in 7:53, so I was hoping to better that.  I warmed-up for one mile, ran a mile in 7:44, and cooled down for the remainder.
To be honest, I had expected/hoped for something in the 7:3x range, but 7:44 is a respectable start and gives me plenty of room with which to work.  And a mile PR is a mile PR!
2.8 miles @ 9:21/mile

Fri: Easy run.
I cannot tell you how much I was looking forward to this, my first non-workout, no-half-marathon-training-goal run in over 2 weeks.  Bonus: my easy pace has dropped by about 30 seconds per mile compared to the MCM training cycle.  Yay!
3.7 miles @ 10:05/mile

Sun: Long-ish run.
I met up with KP to run 10-11 miles of the Lafayette Moraga Trail (paved).  I didn’t have a set pace in mind, but my plan suggested 2 miles at 9:19/mile towards the end of the run.  I decided to play it by ear to see how I felt… and how I felt was tired!  Even before the run, I thought to myself that I was glad to be meeting up with KP, because I was seriously thinking about bailing or postponing the run.  KP was also unusually tired, but together we kept a reasonable pace, with me running ahead on occasion.  At mile 9, I felt decent so I decided to do one race pace mile — which turned out to be too fast at 8:45.  Oops!  I also sprinted the last tiny bit of the run, just to practice a fast finish.  With that, I think I’m ready for Foster City!
10.1 miles @ 10:00/mile, ~500′ elevation gain

Total mileage for the week: 23.9
I’m feeling much, much better compared to last week. Also, I’m starting to feel like ~25 miles per week (mpw) is my sweet spot — just enough miles to increase fitness, but not too many that I feel overworked and fatigued.  Even though I was able to safely handle 50 mpw for MCM training, I also felt drained.  The result was that my easy runs were very slow, which then decreased my overall running confidence.  And, not surprisingly, as Matt Fitzgerald writes in Run (see my book review), confidence can play a huge role in performance.  (BTW, Trail Runner Nation recently posted a great interview with Fitzgerald about Run – check it out here.)

Plan for the coming week:
Mon:  Yoga + bike commute.
Tues:  Speed endurance run + stairs.
Wed:  Easy/recovery run.
Thurs:  Rest.
Fri:  Easy with strides.
Sat:  Rest.
Sun: Foster City 10-miler!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Training
6 comments on “Honing In (Kaiser Week 3)
  1. Cynthia says:

    Hi there! I’ve been lurking on this blog for a while (while still checking your food blog every so often). I didn’t feel like I could contribute until now. I stopped running for about a year but decided to sign up for the Paris half marathon (the last one I ran was more than two years ago I think!). I’m on week 5 of training but still feel awfully out of shape. Paris was my first half but I don’t think I will even beat my original time! Anyway happy new year! Will look for you for running inspiration.

    • Jen says:

      Hi Cynthia! Great to hear from you! It must be really hard to start up again with running, but at least you’re doing it. Good luck with your training and with your half marathon!

  2. 25 miles is pretty much my happy spot, too, when I’m not basking in the off-season-laziness.

    Congrats on the new mile PR!

  3. Cathryn says:

    25 miles/week is my favourite amount too!! It works into a week really nicely!!

    Your threshold/stairs workout sounds mega! So tough! And Foster City is ready for you…the signs went up on the Bay Trail at the weekend!!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
