Race Preview: Foster City 10-miler

5d3f89b6-dRace: Foster City 10-miler
Date & Time: Sunday, Jan. 12, 2014 @ 8:30 a.m.
Where: Foster City, CA (duh)

Course reconnaissance:
Course map
– According to Foster City insider Cathryn, the course is mostly flat, with one hill on the bridge crossing the lagoon in the last mile (of course).
– 6 miles are on the Bay Trail, which could be really nice, or really boring, or both.
– Looks pretty exposed – might need sunglasses!
– There’s also this course preview video.  It made me feel a little motion sick, so proceed at your own risk!

Time goal:
Since this will be my first road 10-miler, I’ll have an automatic PR on Sunday as long as I cross the finish line.  Woot!  That said, I would like to finish under 1:31 (~similar pace to a sub-2 half) as this is a tune-up race for Kaiser.

Other goals/objectives:
– Run with my Garmin covered, as per one of my 2014 running goals.  Maybe this is cheating, but I’m putting a big piece of electrical tape over the time and pace display.  I’d still like to see the distance in case there aren’t any mile markers.
– Try to pace an even/negative split.
– Practice/experiment taking in more fuel than usual, in preparation for Kaiser.  I’ll be carrying a bottle of Cytomax and 2 Gu packets. (Sidenote: I really like my Amphipod handheld, but the one gripe I have about it is that the nozzle was getting incredibly difficult to open and close.  Long story short, I got fed up and finally ordered a new bottle.  I received it yesterday, and was really pleased to see that they’ve updated the nozzle design from plastic snap-top to rubber that I can pull open with my teeth.  Just tried it out this morning and it works like a dream!  This makes me so happy and best of all, it was only $5.  Hooray!!)
– Have fun!

Random thoughts:
Sports psychologists suggest visualization as a good method to mentally train for race day.  I noticed recently that when I visualize races, I often think about how great it will feel to cross the finish line, or running effortlessly as if I’m flying.  While both of those images are good, I’ve also been more conscientious lately about visualizing discomfort during the race — to acknowledge that it will happen if I’m trying my best (which I intend to do) and that it’s temporary.  I’m hoping that all of the threshold and speed-endurance workouts I’ve been doing in the last 3 weeks will pay some dividends in the mental toughness department, as well as the physical, of course.

Anyway, I’m excited about starting the 2014 racing season with this inaugural event!  Anyone else racing this Sunday?

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Goals, random
11 comments on “Race Preview: Foster City 10-miler
  1. Hillary says:

    Kill it on Sunday!! 10-mile races are a great distance – I was just thinking about finding a new, local one this spring (My old favorite is up to $80! Rude!). Glad you were able to update the handheld situation. Looking forward to hearing how everything goes!!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks Hillary! I’m really excited about racing a 10-miler — when I’m running a half marathon, I’m almost always wishing it was a 10-miler instead. I wonder if I’ll be wishing for a 10K on Sunday? We’ll see. 😉

  2. Cathryn says:

    I’m really excited about this for you – YES to sunnies if it’s a clear day! The Bay Trail should be really nice for you – it’s your first time running here, isn’t it? So you’ll be fine. I also agree with visualising the difficult times in a race as well so you’re more prepared to suffer! You’ll rock it though!!

  3. Amy says:

    Running without a Garmin during a race is scary, but the one time mine died during a race, I feel like I ran faster as a “just in case,” so maybe it will work to your advantage? Also, visualization of discomfort (and the firm mental resolve to run through it) is really helpful I think.

    GOOD LUCK!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Amy! I’m having mini freakouts about covering my Garmin on a daily basis – the GR has convinced me that I shouldn’t cheat, that I need to cover the distance as well. EEK. I keep telling myself that this was never an “A race” for me, so I really shouldn’t care. Right??

  4. Angela says:

    So wish I could run this! I really enjoy running down on the peninsula & I’ve never done a 10 mile race. Best of luck to you!!!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Angela! Glad to hear good things about running down on the peninsula — I’m looking forward to exploring that side of the Bay Trail.

  5. 10 miles sounds like such a great distance. A half is a bit too long for me but I’d love the challenge of 10 I think. It sounds like a great race–have fuN!!

  6. […] Why I wanted to run this race & Goals: Discussed here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
