Inadvertent Recovery Week

Good news and bad news.  The good news is that I survived my first full week of work.  Yay!  The “bad” news is that I only ran ~8 miles this week, despite my best intentions.  Here’s a breakdown of my internal dialogue this week:

Monday: “Should I run today? Nah, I never run on Mondays.  Let’s ease into early morning runs starting tomorrow.  Maybe I’ll run 4 times this week, 3-4 miles each time, for a total of 12-16 miles.  Yeah, that would be awesome!”

Tuesday, 6:00 a.m.: “Rise and shine! Let’s do this!! Hm, running in the dark is sorta weird, but kinda cool too.  These sidewalks are actually in better shape and more well-lit than I expected.  Do I even need this headlamp?  Or this reflective vest?  I feel like such a dork, but safety first, right??”
Total: 4.3 miles

Wednesday: “It’s probably better for me to run today than tomorrow, BUT my legs feel a bit tired (or is it just my whole body in general?).  Yeah, I think it’s a good idea for me to sleep in a little today and run tomorrow instead.”
Wed, 10:45 p.m.: “Ugh, I can’t believe I *just* got home from LT’s apartment in San Francisco!  I’m so tired!  If I run tomorrow, I’ll have to get up in 7 hours, and I’m so cranky when I don’t get my 8 hours of shut eye.  Sorry, running, you’ll having to wait.”

Thursday: “Sleeping in was the best idea EVER.”

Friday: “This morning running thing isn’t so bad, but I really need to make this run shorter than Tuesday’s run if I want to get to work on time.”
Total: 3.6 miles

Saturday, camping at Big Basin: “Well, I could run the 10-mile route that everyone else is hiking, but I’d have to do it solo.  Maybe I can sneak in a run tomorrow before we leave.”

Sunday: “My head doesn’t feel so great.  Maybe I should’ve drank more water last night.  Oh look, there goes RL going for a short run.  Should I go with her?  Nah… I’ve just made my breakfast and the Gypsy Runner is pouring the hot water for the coffee.  I’ll be better this coming week.  Tomorrow’s a new day!”

Total for the week: 7.9 miles of running, 10 miles of hiking.

I’m not too disappointed, mainly because I know that there will be a period of adjustment and also because this last week was an anomaly — it was my first full week of work, I don’t usually have weeknight social obligations in SF, and I’m not usually heading out of town on the weekends.  Thankfully, work itself isn’t that stressful, so it’s not like I’m super exhausted when I get home.  However, it’s a big adjustment to go from working part-time to being out of the house for 10-11 hours a day, Monday through Friday.

And that’s just running.  Don’t even get me started on meal planning… I didn’t cook ONCE this whole week.  So it should probably also go without saying that I’m way behind on blog reading and commenting. My apologies in advance!

I’ll leave you with some photos from yesterday’s hike.  It was so pretty that it made me consider running the Big Basin 50K next May!

Into the redwoods!

Hiking amongst the beautiful redwoods

The Golden Cascade (top) to the Silver Falls (bottom).  It was just a trickle, but at least there was some water.  I was afraid they'd be dry due to the drought.

The Golden Cascade. It was just a trickle, but at least there was some water. I was afraid it would be completely dry due to the drought.

Berry Creek Falls.

Berry Creek Falls. There was a tiny rainbow where that bright spot is toward the bottom of the falls.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Training
11 comments on “Inadvertent Recovery Week
  1. Jan says:

    Hey a recovery week is okay every now and then, especially if you’re dealing with a new schedule!

  2. Angela says:

    Nice pics!!

    Adjusting to a new schedule & fitting stuff in always takes some time. Don’t beat yourself up too much. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    I’m catching up on like 2 months worth of commenting, so don’t feel bad! And I’m probably running that much without any good excuses like hanging out in San Francisco or exploring waterfalls. Glad the job is going well so far!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Amy. I wish commenting was easier on my iPhone or directly through feedly (my RSS reader) — I’d be set! #firstworldblogreaderprobs

  4. Cathryn says:

    If your legs are tired, a low-mileage week is always a good idea!

    Super jealous of the big basin trip – that place is incredible. I’m definitely doing the half-marathon there next year – it clashed with one of the Husband’s warm-up iron races this year so I nobly gave up my plan to run it in 2014 but 2015? HAPPENING!! I loved camping there, we had our own redwood grove to sleep in. Pretty magical!

  5. alicias2013 says:

    The recovery week will make this week’s running even better, so good for you for not stressing about it. It’s hard for us obsessive runners! I am enjoying your posts on MAF, as I recently started running again after a break and have been doing it too. Your blog was one of the things that inspired me to give it a try!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Alicia! The week after the rest week was indeed much better, and this week (2 weeks after) better still. Are you the same Alicia who friended me on Dailymile? Either way – good luck with your MAF training!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
