Race Recap: LMJS 4th Sunday 5K (October 2014)

I decided to run this past Sunday’s Lake Merritt Joggers and Striders 4th Sunday race only 3 days beforehand.  KP and I were texting back and forth, trying to decide when our next running date would be.  We were having some trouble coming up with a day when she suggested running at Lake Merritt, to which I replied, “Well, I was actually thinking about doing the 4th Sunday race…”  Then JT hopped on the last-minute 5K train, and the 3 of us decided to do the race and then eat brunch afterward.  Perfect!

I had originally considered doing the LMJS 5K as an indicator of how MAF training was going, in addition the usual gamut of MAF Tests.  It would be a good trial of the “run slow to run faster” paradox that’s often referenced by MAF devotees.  Since I ran a 5K at the end of August, only a couple of weeks into MAF training, I had a nice baseline/reference.  In that race, I finished in 27:23 (8:51/mile) — though my Garmin read 8:39/mile for 3.17 miles.  (Despite the title of this blog, I’m apparently horrible at running tangents.)

My goals were to run hard and see if I could PR (26:16).  In the days leading up to the race, I tried as hard as I could to prepare myself mentally to hurt, as 5Ks often do.  In retrospect, I wish I had had more time to visualize and work on mental strength, because I think that was my biggest issue. (*Foreshadowing*)

I won’t write too much about the logistics of the race, since I’ve recapped several of them previously (e.g., here).  I will say that I love these low-key races for their community vibe and low entry fees.  I do not love the fact that it’s an open course around a popular, multi-use path that is often narrow and crowded.

Sunday morning was cool and a tiny bit windy.  I met up with KP and JT, did a short warm-up, and listened to the pre-race instructions.  Just minutes before the race, we discussed race strategies.  I declared that I was going to try to PR.  KP and JT both said they were going to take it easy, having (separately) run hilly trail miles the day before.

Before I knew it, the race director started counting down from 10 and then we were off!  I ignored my logical side and went out fast, carried forward by the momentum of the college cross country team that dominated the front of the pack.  After a minute or so, I looked down at my Garmin to see 7:3x.  Woah, nelly!  Time to slow it down.  I found a few people around me who looked like they were going about the “right” pace and tried to stay with them.  For about a mile, I followed 2 young girls, about 10 years old, until they fell back due to cramping.  I also kept leap-frogging with a woman in a tank top and pink shorts – in a friendly, not annoying way.

Eventually, I got “strollered” (the equivalent of getting “chicked”?) by a young dad who, to be honest, did not look particularly fit.  He passed me about 1.5 miles into the race and even though I was struggling, I was determined to stick with him.  Just then, he had a stroller malfunction where the stroller wrist strap came loose and caused him to trip up, which also shook me out of my rhythm.  Almost simultaneously, KP and JT came up and passed me.  I was shocked – I thought they were going to take it easy?!?!  But there they were, effortlessly gliding along and pulling farther and farther ahead.

I’m sad to say that this unexpected turn of events broke me mentally.  I was already struggling, and to see my friends, whom I had thought would be tired and taking it easy, run past me was a big blow.  For about a minute, I thought about giving up, and I began to feel even more deflated to see my pace slow down to almost 9:00/mile (I ran my first 2 miles in 8:12 and 8:20).  Then, I began berating myself for even thinking about quitting and also for allowing myself to be so rattled by KP and JS passing me.  What a crazy, counterproductive cycle to be caught in!

Fortunately, I eventually fought my way out of this downward spiral.  With about half a mile to go, I came back to the race and focused on finishing strong.  There were 2 teenage girls ahead of me and I told myself just to hang on to them and to try to pass them if I could.  I managed to stay with them and even had a little bit of kick at the end to finish in 26:30 (8:32/mile).  (For what it’s worth, my Garmin read 8:22 for 3.16 miles.  Stinkin’ tangents!)  It wasn’t a PR, but it was still 53 seconds faster than August!  Honestly, I think I could’ve done better if it wasn’t for that mental lapse in the last mile.

As for the HR stuff, here’s the data from the 2 races:

HR and pace data from the 5K By the Bay in August.

HR and pace data from the 5K By the Bay in August.

HR and pace data from the LMJS 5K this past Sunday.

HR and pace data from the LMJS 5K this past Sunday.  Note the difference in HR toward the end of both races.

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 8.56.01 PM

Data from both races. The bottom number in the “Max HR” column is not the average — it’s the actual maximum.

Looking at the data, there’s good news and bad news.  The good news is that I was able to keep my HR more constant throughout the race on Sunday even at an overall faster pace, especially in the 3rd mile. This indicates an improvement in my fitness. The bad news is that the August data shows that I’m clearly capable of pushing myself physically to a very high HR late in a race, but I definitely didn’t do that this past Sunday (highlighted boxes)… which reconfirms my instinct that I could’ve finished faster.

To be honest, I was a little disappointed with myself after the race, but I got over it pretty quickly.  That’s the nice thing about last-minute 5Ks – there’s not that much riding on it and there’s always another one just around the corner.  As for KP and JT, they both had big PRs — mostly because neither of them have raced a 5K in many years.  The 3 of us finished top 3 in our age group (out of 5 – haha).  Go us!

Post-race selfies!

Post-race selfies!

Official stats:
26:30 (8:32/mile)
47/90 overall, 3/5 AG

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Race Recap
10 comments on “Race Recap: LMJS 4th Sunday 5K (October 2014)
  1. Congrats on coming in 3rd in your age group! Interesting to read about MAF training.

  2. Angela says:

    Given that the whole MAF/aerobic base training thing is such a long game, I would say you definitely have to take this as improvement, especially since you decided to do it at the last minute. Congrats on placing as well!!

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Angela! Yes, you’re right (as usual). I’m not a particularly patient person, as this whole MAF training/experiment has demonstrated! 😉

  3. Cathryn says:

    I think this is all great stuff. Okay you didn’t PR but you knocked loads of time off your last race so you should be so chuffed with that! Definite progress. AND you placed!! So much to celebrate!!

  4. alicias2013 says:

    It stinks the race didn’t go as you’d hoped, but you definitely should be proud of finishing it out and improving! I am so happy to see your heart rate improvements! It is encouraging to see, since I’m working on MAF too.

  5. Jan says:

    Well you know I love those little local 5k’s! So much fun and not having to plan in advance is a huge bonus. I think you did great and have some evidence that MAF is working! As for the stroller, I got beat by a dad pushing a 3-4-year-old in a stroller today and it was a VERY hilly half marathon!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
  • I love my sisters. They give me their honest opinions with my best interest at heart - even if it's not always the "nicest" thing. 2 hours ago
  • @emmyjane1 For me it was the grandma and whenever she did anything brave 😭 9 hours ago
  • @reallyhillary Yeah, I think I will run in my neighborhood instead of driving somewhere. Maybe run/walk if I'm not feeling great. Thanks! 1 day ago
  • I'm sick (feeling ok but congested). Should I: 1 day ago
  • RT @IjeomaOluo: Y'all. I've never tweeted anything else where so many dudes clamored up to be exhibit a https://t.co/fJGtzkRrRY 2 days ago
Archives
Categories
