Running in NYC

I realize that I’m way behind on blog posts, but I wanted to write about this before too much time had passed….

One of the coolest things since becoming a runner is exploring new places on foot, and being able to cover a decent distance within a reasonable amount of time. Growing up on the East Coast, I’m no stranger to New York City, but I hadn’t been back to the Big Apple since I started running more regularly.  Therefore, when I was in NYC last month, I was really excited to see the city through the eyes of a runner.

I was very fortunate to stay with a friend who lives on the Upper West Side, only blocks from Riverside Park to the west and Central Park to the east. The other happy coincidence was being in NYC just as all of the flowers were blooming. I kept thinking to myself, “If you don’t love New York in the springtime, you’re crazy.” I’m sure that having done most of my runs on a treadmill during my 2-week class made me even more grateful for the scenery and fresh air.

My first run was an out-and-back on the Riverside Path, 6 miles along the Hudson River.  I don’t know if it was because I finally got a good night’s sleep, or because I was finally running outside, or because I had taken 5 days off from running, but I felt like I was flying.  OK, maybe not flying, but cruising along very effortlessly.  Most of all, I ran with incredible joy and gratitude — cheesy, but true.

Running along the Hudson River.

Running along the Hudson River on a beautiful spring morning.

Got within a mile or so of the George Washington Bridge.

George Washington Bridge in the distance.

So many blooming trees!

So many blooming trees!

I was told that these are called paper magnolias...

I was told that these are called paper magnolias…

My second run took me 8 miles around Central Park – to the North Woods, then to the infamous Reservoir, and finally down and around the south side.  I stopped a million times to take photos.  At the end of my run, I started getting really hungry, prompting me to stop for a bagel with cream cheese on my way home.  YUM. No food photos because I ate everything too quickly!

Harlem Moor, which I mistook for the Reservoir at first.

Harlem Moor, which I mistook for the Reservoir at first.

The Jackie Onassis Kennedy Reservoir.  Unfortunately, the east side was closed, which prevented me from circumventing the whole thing.

The Jackie Onassis Kennedy Reservoir. Unfortunately, the east side was closed, which prevented me from circumventing the whole thing.

The Obelisk, the oldest man-made object in Central Park (according to the park's website)

The Obelisk, the oldest man-made object in Central Park (according to the park’s website)

My two runs in NYC were a wonderful way to see the city – I highly recommend it! It definitely made me want to run the NYC Marathon someday.  That said, I was also really happy to come home to the Bay Area and run on actual trails and in nature, etc.  Being in NYC is exciting and all, but there’s no place like home.

Home sweet home.

Home sweet home.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Travel
6 comments on “Running in NYC
  1. Jan says:

    That is one of my favorite parts of traveling–exploring on foot while running! The city is soooo pretty, especially those tree blossoms, wow!

    • Jen says:

      I couldn’t stop gawking at the tree blossoms, especially the dogwoods and the magnolias, which we don’t have much of out in California.

  2. Sherry says:

    There’s nothing like being let loose with your running shoes in a new place! Looks like you had gorgeous weather!

    • Jen says:

      Yes, I was really lucky with the weather! On both days, the weather went south in the afternoon. I forgot how quickly weather changes on the East Coast!

  3. Brianna says:

    Thank you so much for sharing all your beautiful pictures of running in NYC! I really miss those sights. I realize I am extremely lucky to get to live in Runnin the Bay Area, but I will always have a special place in my heart for running in New York. I started running the summer before I moved to there for school and fell in love with the sport wile running around the middle loop in Central Park. Love it!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 339 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

11/5/17 – Alameda Holiday Kick Off 5K
12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon

  • RT @MJB_SF: I’ve told this story before about my time at PayPal. It seems relevant again. 1 hour ago
  • Don't forget, Run & Ride 1-mile/5K/10K at Great America is on 12/9! Save 15% with code GARUNTANG15 runandriderace.com/greatamerica 2 hours ago
  • RT @capecowlcomics: Our Black Friday Weekend Sale is about to begin and we wanted to give everyone a heads up that Parking is FREE in Oakla… 4 hours ago
  • RT @ASlavitt: Black Friday: Time to smash ACA sales records Trump does not want ppl to see.👇 80% can get coverage for < $75/mo thru 12/15.… 5 hours ago
  • RT @eveewing: Love to everyone who wants to be with their family this week, but can’t. Love to those for whom “home” is not a safe or welco… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories
