Big Basin 50K Week 10: Congestion Central

As you can probably tell by the title of this post, my cold did not go away quietly last week. I woke up last Monday feeling OK – not great, but not that bad either – so I went to work as usual. However, it became apparent (more to my boss than to me) that I was sicker than I realized. My boss sent me home after our midday meeting, assuring me that she’d cover my various tasks if I ended up staying home on Tuesday. Sure enough, my cold got worse, so I stayed home Tuesday, Wednesday, AND Thursday. I had already planned on taking Friday off so we could head up to Santa Rosa early for a wedding. So it was a week of almost no work and very little running. My sinus congestion was so bad midweek that I thought my head was going to explode. When I woke up on Sunday without a sinus headache for the first time in days, I was so grateful. Today I was finally able to start breathing through both nostrils (yay for the little things!), even if that meant blowing my nose so often that the skin is raw. It really hurts! I’m contemplating using Body Glide on my nose – does anyone have experience with this?

So, obviously, I didn’t run the 46 miles I had on the schedule last week. I took it very easy and heeded some of your advice (from last week’s post) to rest. On the 3 occasions I did run, I made sure to take it super slow. I wore my HRM and kept it way below my MAF max. On Friday and Sunday, I did jog-walk intervals (4 min 30 sec jog + 30 sec walk) to make sure I didn’t over do it. Altogether, I ran 16 miles last week. I’m not that bummed because my main goal is be as healthy as possible for this Saturday’s trail marathon. The good news is that I actually feel a lot better while I’m running. I don’t know why, but I do. Also, I haven’t been terribly exhausted afterwards, which I take as a good sign.

My plan for this week is to continue to be very conservative. I plan on running Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday as scheduled; however, I’ll probably run for time rather than distance, keeping an eye on my HR to make sure I’m running easy. Hopefully, this cold is on its way out and I’ll be snot-free soon!

Random photo of my cats, because CATS. #allthefurrr

Random photo of my cats, because CATS. #allthefurrr

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Big Basin 50K
7 comments on “Big Basin 50K Week 10: Congestion Central
  1. bt says:

    Isn’t it amazing how debilitating a cold can be? I’m always in awe when I get a bad one. How do I manage to forget the serious annoyance and pain?

    • Jen says:

      I know, right?? Seriously though, this might be the worst cold I’ve ever had. I’m actually beginning to wonder if I had a sinus infection halfway through…

  2. Mike says:

    Don’t kiss your honey,
    When your nose is runny.
    You may think it’s funny…
    but it’s snot.

    Glad your sinuses are clearing, and hope you’re fully recovered for Canyon Meadows. As for why running makes you feel better… let’s hear it for adrenaline & dopamine, both potent bronchodilators!

  3. Angela says:

    Ugh. That sucks. Bad congestion is kind of the most miserable kind of (not-that-serious) sick. Definitely best to rest up so that your body can fight it off. My favorite for chapped noses (& chafing of all kind) is still coconut oil. Hope you’re feeling better!!

    • Jen says:

      Your “most miserable kind of (not-that-serious) sick” description is so apt! It’s just plain uncomfortable. In some ways, I wished that I had just had the flu, which is horrible for 1-2 days but goes away as quickly as it arrived. Coconut oil sounds yummy! I’ve been carrying around a tiny container of Vaseline everywhere I go. 🙂

  4. Cathryn says:

    I love that this blog post was basically all about snot.

    I use body glide as lip balm in an emergency so def try it on your nose!!! Mend soon and good luck at the weekend xx

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
