Big Basin 50K Week 12: Excuses, Excuses

Confession: I didn’t hit my mileage target last week, even though I’m no longer sick. I can’t say I’m back to being 100% healthy — my lung capacity still feels compromised — but I’m finally breathing out of both nostrils and my snot rocket blowing days are behind me. So why didn’t I run all 44 miles according to plan? Well, let’s see… on Tuesday, I only managed 1.3 miles around the block because of stomach problems/sleeping in/running late for work. On Wednesday, I skipped my run entirely so that I could prepare for a presentation on Thursday morning. Thursday came around and I finally got 5 miles in with a fun run with Kate and Jess on Wildcat Creek Trail.

I added a “bonus run” of 3.2 miles on Friday morning (usually my rest day) so that, even if I didn’t hit my planned weekly mileage, at least I’d be hitting the same number of runs for the week (5).  #runnerOCD

On Saturday, I went on a great but tough run up Mt. Tamalpais with Kate and Cathryn, which was definitely the highlight of the week. On Sunday, I slept in and went to dim sum instead of waking up early for a trail run, but I paid for it by running in the midday heat. Between Saturday and Sunday’s trail runs, I managed to log ~22+ miles with ~3500′ of elevation gain/loss. I’d say that’s quality over quantity right there.

Panorama taken about halfway up to Mt. Tam

Panorama taken about halfway up to Mt. Tam

We made it to the top! (Photo courtesy of Cathryn)

We made it to the top! (Photo courtesy of Cathryn)

We finally found the namesake plant for Fern Creek Trail. We later came upon the creek too. (Photo credit: Cathryn)

We finally found the namesake plant for Fern Creek Trail. We later came upon the creek too. (Photo credit: Cathryn)

As you might be able to tell, my energy and motivation levels are pretty low right now. I feel a big part of it is lingering laziness/fatigue from being sick, because I’m also feeling less motivated at work and at home. Another possible factor is that, by completing a trail marathon last week while I was sick (i.e., accomplishing a big task while feeling like absolute crap), I feel ready for Big Basin…to the extent that I no longer feel like training. While it’s technically true that I wouldn’t have to train very hard to *complete* Big Basin, I also don’t want to suffer very much, so I know I should try to adhere to my training schedule as much as possible.

Luckily, it’s less than 4 weeks until race day(!!), and only one week of “real” training before taper, so all of this hand-wringing is pretty much moot. 50k training will be over before I know it — and y’all are probably looking forward to that day as much as I am. Going forward with the remainder of training, I’ll continue to aim to run 5 times a week, but I won’t be a slave to mileage – with the exception of this weekend’s last 20-miler. 😉 I might even throw in a few fartleks and fast finishes just to keep things interesting.
About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Big Basin 50K
8 comments on “Big Basin 50K Week 12: Excuses, Excuses
  1. Amy says:

    One more intense week! You can do it!

  2. jess says:

    You ran a freaking marathon!! Maybe 44 miles the week after a tough trail marathon was a bit optimistic. I say move forward, let it go. Get in one more solid week of high mileage, and then taper.

  3. EB says:

    Less than 4 weeks! That is so exciting. I think it’s totally normal to feel tired at this point in training. It’s a lot of miles and we all have lives outside of running. I always try to remind myself that taper is right around the corner. A few more weeks of work and you are there! Keep it up!

  4. Jan says:

    Wow, the race is so close! I think a lull in motivation when you’re at the heavy part of your training is pretty normal. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
