Two weeks

Just checking in with a quick training update, before I head into another work-induced black hole (this time, it’s a conference that I helped to organize).

As part of 5K training, I’ve been doing speedwork regularly. The nice thing about going from zero workouts to twice a week is that there’s usually quick progress. Case in point:

Example 1: over 2 weeks ago, I did mile repeats with splits of 8:43, 8:27, 8:28 (average 8:33/mile). I was disappointed, but I also abided by my motto, “You gotta start somewhere!” This past Saturday, I did the same workout with splits of 8:05, 8:00, 8:15 (average 8:07/mile). To be fair, the first workout was done in the pre-dawn hours in my neighborhood (on sidewalks), whereas the second was at high noon on a track. And I’m sure that running a 5K recently with a 8:13/mile average helped a lot mentally – i.e., to know in the back of my head that I was capable of running that pace or faster for mile repeats (though I didn’t pace myself based on my Garmin).

Example 2: exactly 2 weeks ago, I did a fartlek workout (10 x [1 minute on/1 minute off]) with an average pace of 7:52/mile. In very similar conditions this morning, I did the same workout with an average pace of 7:39/mile. Of course, I’m happy with the faster average pace, but I’m even happier with the fact that this morning’s splits were more consistent than they were 2 weeks ago.

Something I just realized recently is that I’ve never trained for a 5K. So I’m hoping all of this hard work pays off on March 20th! Regardless of the outcome, there are some lessons I’ve learned with a few weeks of speedwork under my belt:

  • Speedwork is hard, but I get a lot of satisfaction after each session.
  • No matter how hard I *think* I’m running, I can almost always go faster.
  • My perspective keeps shifting as my splits get faster. I remember a few years ago when I thought a single 8-minute mile was my top speed, and now I can run 3 miles averaging 8:07/mile! I know that’s not very fast by a lot of people’s standards, but for someone who often came in dead last in the timed mile at school, it means A LOT.

Hope everyone is having a good week! Happy Chinese New Year!

IMG_5158

Spring has sprung! #seenonmyrun

 

 

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Training
10 comments on “Two weeks
  1. heatherihn says:

    wait, which race are you doing March 20?

    • Jen says:

      Oakland! Technically the “Bank of the West 5K”. I’m doing the “Run This Town” Challenge – 5K at 7:30am, followed by the half at 9:15am!

  2. That photo is making me so jealous! Hope you’re enjoying the weather; I’ve never done dedicated 5k training either; I’d be interested to read more about your plan! How many weeks is it?

    • Jen says:

      Haha, I’m not following an actual plan, it’s more like something I’ve made up in my head. 😉 All it is is running 4x/week, split between: shorter intervals, long intervals/tempo, a long run, and an easy run. I think a “real” plan would have me doing more serious speedwork than what I’m doing, but I’m OK with being a bit lazy/loose.

  3. lilahwi says:

    Happy Chinese New Year! I have been reading your blog for awhile, but haven’t commented yet. Just stalking. 😉 I wanted to thank you for suggesting the book by Matt Fitzgerald, I am reading it now. I also can identify with this post, I am 5K training for the first time though I have been running for 5 years and have run 2 marathons. 🙂 I am doing a 5K winter series now (I am in Wisconsin). Running a lot of 5K races definitely helps. My goal race is also March 20th. Good luck!

  4. Mike says:

    HooRAY for getting faster! Speed work is the best, isn’t it? (Especially once it’s over). Barring a crazy heat wave, all your hard work should definitely pay off on March 20. Just be sure to save a lil’ sumpin’ sumpin’ for the half!

    • Jen says:

      I am secretly (or perhaps not so secretly, now that I’m writing it down) hoping that I can PR both distances…but the 5K is definitely priority #1.

  5. Angela says:

    Happy New Year! I love speed work. Yes, it’s hard, but super satisfying (and for some reason I always feel less beat up than on easy runs)!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

12/9/17 – Great America Run & Ride (save 15% with code GARUNTANG15)

2/5/18 – Kaiser SF Half Marathon
3/25/18 – Oakland Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
