Running Lately

Since it’s been a few weeks since I wrote about running, I thought I’d do a quick check-in on what’s been going on lately. To catch you up to speed: I’m training for the Danville 10K on Saturday, May 28th. Coming off of a PR at the Oakland 5K (24:52; 8:00/mile), I thought that it would be quite reasonable to aim for 8:15-8:20/mile pace at Danville. In the last 7 weeks since Oakland, my training has been all over the place. One big reason: despite coming very close to my PR at the LMJS 10K on 4/24, I took more than a week off in favor of Maui.

IMG_5411

“I think I can, I think I can” (Photo credit: Lake Merritt Joggers and Striders)

Now, I don’t regret that trade off; the vacation was WAY more important to me than my performance at the Danville 10K. However, I might have underestimated how 8 days off would affect my speed. (FWIW, I’m not counting the 1.5 mile run I did in Maui.) The paces of the workouts I’ve done since I’ve been back have been sad. I mean, they weren’t great before, but now it’s like I’m stuck at 8:30-8:40/mile pace and I can’t find a faster gear. I did manage a 2 x 2 mile workout averaging 8:25/mile last week, but I was *dead* at the end of it.

Then, in the theme of life/fun >> training, I went out this past Saturday night for girls’ night out. I had a few too many drinks and stayed up way past my bed time. Do I regret it? No. Did my run suffer for it? Of course!

So I’m definitely recalibrating expectations and aiming to run smart at Danville. I want to start on the conservative side and hopefully speed up — i.e., the opposite of what I did at Lake Merritt. I’m also going to spend the next 10 days getting my mind ready for the fight. I think it’s going to be an “expect the worst but hope for the best” situation. I’m going to try my best; that’s the only thing I can control.

The one thing that looks promising is the weather; I had expected warm temps, but it’s been quite cool lately. I hope writing this down doesn’t jinx it!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Training
9 comments on “Running Lately
  1. Cathryn says:

    I REALLY hope it’s cool!!!! If it heats up, I’m blaming you!

  2. bt says:

    Sad not to be joining you but will be sending great vibes for the best race you’ve got in the tank that day. Enjoy!

  3. Dominick S. says:

    …and I’m sure you just jinxed the weather.

  4. Angela says:

    Hah — Expect the worst & hope for the best was exactly my attitude about Eugene. Here’s hoping the weather cooperates!

    • Jen says:

      Can’t go wrong with that attitude, huh? And if it’s hot… then I have a legit excuse of why I didn’t run faster. Heh

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
