CIM Training Week 1 (of 12)

I’ve been staying away from weekly training recaps, because I think they tend to be a bit dry, but I’ll make an exception for CIM training because I usually like to go back and read details on how a particular marathon training cycle went.

Monday: Rest. Killed it. I ended up taking the day off from work because my little date with the sidewalk last Sunday caused me to not sleep well (due to pain in both knees). Then I realized I couldn’t fathom wearing real clothes or bending my knees. Oh, and late Sunday night, my right wrist started hurting. It seemed like I twisted it during my fall. Whomp whomp. Luckily, it was a pretty open day for me work-wise. Take the sick day when you can, that’s my motto.

Tuesday: 70 minute progression run, with last 20 minutes fast. Since my knees were still pretty tender, and my heart rate monitor was acting all crazy-like, I forgot about the progression run and took it very, very easy. 6.5 miles @ 10:43/mile

Wednesday: 45 minutes easy. I was originally supposed to run for 55-65 minutes, but considering this is the first week I’m bumping up from 4 to 5 runs a week, I erred on the side of caution. My heart rate was still high, but not as crazy as Tuesday. 4 miles @ 11:03/mile

Thursday: Fartlek run of 60 minutes with 10 x (1 min on/1 min off). This went off without a hitch, but I was surprised to look at my splits afterward and see the “on” paces start off at 8:30 (slower than I expected/felt) and get down below 8:00/mile by the end. I’ll be doing a lot of fartleks this cycle to keep me on my toes. 6 miles @ 10:10/mile

Friday: Rest.

Saturday: Long slow distance 14 miles. I’m supposed to do my long runs on Sundays, but I had the chance to run with Cathryn, so I swapped my Saturday/Sunday runs. We ran along the Bay Trail between Hayward and San Leandro and actually saw a fox! It was adorable! I managed to not take any fuel during the run, though I did have breakfast (a Picky bar). I’m trying to wean myself off bloks and gels during LSD runs to tap into fat burning. Last week was a bit of a struggle at 10 miles, but this week I felt pretty good through the end. I felt like I could’ve run a couple more miles, which is good because 16 miles is on tap next week! 14 miles @ 10:19

img_5879

Look! A fox!

Sunday: 50-60 minutes easy. I opted for breakfast instead of running, so by the time I got around to my run, it was 12:30 and blazing hot outside. I don’t like the treadmill, but I like it better than running outside when it’s hot & sunny. (I know, I’m a wimp.) 5 miles @ 10:24

Total mileage: 35.5 miles
How I’m feeling: I think this is a good, solid start! My knees are feeling a lot better too.
Looking ahead to next week: Leg speed (strides) on Tuesday, longer fartleks on Thursday, and a 16 miler on Sunday. Bring it on!

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
8 comments on “CIM Training Week 1 (of 12)
  1. Angela says:

    Nice week 1!! Hopefully the bumps & bruises are feeling better.

  2. jess says:

    Solid training!! You didn’t mention your wrist later in the week, so I assume that’s healed up.

  3. Mike says:

    T–12 weeks and counting! 12 weeks that will fly by before you know it, until you’re standing on one of my favorite start lines in CA, ready to round out 2016 in style with one more PR. Hope the knees are healing quickly, feeling strong and ready for the miles ahead! Amazing to see a fox on the trail around humans like that, and kudos to you for having the presence of mind to snap a photo before it fled. The only red fox sighting I’ve ever had was up in Alaska, where it was hanging out all by itself, far from any kind of traffic. I wonder where your fox lives…

    • Jen says:

      According to the bicyclists who were also stopped, staring at the fox, the creature (and his family) lives on the adjacent golf course. Kind of a strange place for a fox den!

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
