CIM Training Week 2 (of 12)

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: Leg speed (aka strides) – 10 x 25 sec on/1 min off. Nice little workout to get the legs to turnover more efficiently. 5.9 miles @ 10:10/mile

img_5886

I got to work and found a box of donuts on my desk. Best Tuesday ever!

Wednesday: 60 minutes easy. I just couldn’t get my act together, so I only managed 46 minutes of running. Wednesdays are technically my extra/optional running day for the training cycle, so I don’t feel that bad about cutting it short (just a tiny bit guilty). 4.5 miles @ 10:21/mile

Thursday: Short intervals 5 x 2 min on/1 min off. This was tougher than I expected. I was hoping to run around 8:00/mile for the “on” segments. What I ended up with: 8:26, 8:00, 8:15, 8:08, 7:46. Apparently, I was concentrating so hard that I didn’t realize I had finished 5 intervals, so I did an extra one by accident. Oops. 5.5 miles @ 9:40/mile

Friday: Rest. Glorious!

Saturday: Long slow distance 16 miles. Again, I switched my weekend runs around so that I could have company. This time, I convinced Layla and Kristen to meet me at the San Leandro Marina. Even though I’ve run here so many times, it’s nice to see it through a different pair (or pairs) of eyes. We ran 12 miles together before Kristen decided that her knee was in too much pain, and she needed to stretch and walk. Since I was short on time and still needed to cover 4 more miles, and because Layla kindly agreed to stay with Kristen, I went ahead and finished the run solo. I inadvertently did a semi-fast finish long run, with the last 4 miles all around 9:40/mile. Like last week, I felt pretty strong at the end, especially considering that I didn’t take any fuel during the run (water only). Another nice confidence booster! The one downside? Chafing. Ouch. 16 miles @ 10:06

img_5895-1

Thanks Layla for the beautiful photos!

Sunday: 60 minutes easy. Slow, hot recovery miles around my neighborhood. I kept my heart rate below 140 (100% aerobic). 5.4 miles @ 11:11

Total mileage: 37.3 miles
How I’m feeling: It’s only week 2, but I’m already hungry all of the time and tired too, despite trying to make sure I fuel and sleep well.
Looking ahead to next week: I’ve got a long weekday run on Tuesday morning and the first true workout of the cycle – cruise intervals (6 x 1000 m) – on Thursday morning. Then, I’m topping it all off with an 18-miler on Sunday. I’m already planning my long run around what to eat afterwards. 😉 #willrunforbagels

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
6 comments on “CIM Training Week 2 (of 12)
  1. dlubi says:

    Keep up the great work!!!

    I do a similar power workout with 2 minute intervals (but longer rest – relative to where I am in my training cycle). Really challenging to hold a consistent fast pace throughout the workout, but it will help build consistent speed for race day- stick with it!

    Definitely focus on fueling and hydrating before, during, & after each workout so you can race strong toward that finish line!

    Cheering for you!!

  2. Grace says:

    An entire box of donuts on your desk? What miracle is this?!
    Are you using a training plan, or making it up as you go along? 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Heh, I’m following a plan from Greg McMillan’s You (Only Faster). Though I do sort of make it up as I go along… i.e., change the workout as needed.

  3. Angela says:

    I feel my training program is sorely lacking in donuts.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
Archives
Categories
