CIM Training: Week 4 of 12

Just a quick post to log last week’s marathon training. I’ll write a lengthier version detailing the lovely weekend spent in Healdsburg soon!

Monday: Rest.

Tuesday: Fartleks – 12 x (1 min on/1 min off). Another Tuesday run, another morning full of minor mishaps. Fartleks were fine though! 5.7 miles @ 10:10/mile

Wednesday: 60 minutes easy. I had the lovely Jess in town to run with me. So delightful! 5.5 miles @ 10:40/mile

Thursday: Tempo Intervals – 3 x 2000 m with 400 m jog recovery. I was *very* nervous about this workout. My plan had 4-5 repeats, but I cut it down to 3 since I’d be doing some faster than marathon pace miles on Sunday at the Healdsburg Half. Luckily, I had Jess’s company again, which helped a lot. My target pace was 8:12-8:30/mile, but I honestly would’ve been happy with anything faster than half marathon pace (8:55). I ended up nailing this workout, with average paces of: 8:20, 8:23, and 8:18. Woot!  6.5 miles @ 9:26/mile

Friday: Rest! And lots of Korean food for dinner.

And this was just the beginning…

Saturday: 60-75 minutes easy. Our plans to run in the Redwoods was thwarted by a big trail race, so we headed to the shoreline instead. 6.5 miles @ 10:35/mile

Sunday: Progression long run @ Healdsburg Half. The plan was to warm-up with an easy 3 miles pre-race, then run 3 miles at ~9:30, 5 miles at 9:15, 5 miles at 9:00/mile or faster. Like Thursday’s workout, I was a little nervous about this race/workout, but I ended up crushing it. More details to come! 16.1 miles @ 9:25/mile

Running is always more fun with friends!

Total mileage: 40.3 miles
How I’m feeling: Good! I know it’s early in the training cycle, but Healdsburg was a big confidence boost.
Looking ahead to next week: A big mileage week. I’ve got a long midweek run on Tuesday, my first (out of 2) sessions of Yasso 800’s on Thursday, and my first 20-miler of the training cycle.

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in CIM, Training
5 comments on “CIM Training: Week 4 of 12
  1. Cathryn says:

    You’re rocking this – I was so impressed with you and Angela rolling out those miles at the weekend!!

  2. Angela says:

    Nice week!!
    I don’t know about you but I am starting to feel kind of over CIM training….Can it just get here already????? I’m ready now.
    (J/K, totally not ready now.)

    • Jen says:

      LOL. I know *exactly* how you feel. Except you must feel it more than me, because you started the serious training before I did. Only 6.5 weeks to go…

  3. […] CIM Training Week 4 was all rainbows and unicorns, then Week 5 was a whole load of the opposite. Here’s what went […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 329 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

6/4/17 - Lake Chabot Trail Challenge Half Marathon

Archives
Categories
