Race Recap: Woodside Ramble 10K

Two weeks after running CIM, I decided to run a 10K at Huddart Park with Cathryn. Why? Well, I decided that a bit of trail running with one of my favorite runners/friends was just what I needed after almost a full year of intense training. Even though it was a race, we decided to take it easy, stopping for photos when we felt like it, and moving along at a conversational pace.

Cathryn has already written an excellent recap, so I’ve decided to do a, list of “10 thoughts I had during the Woodside Ramble 10K.”

  1. This is an amazing, gorgeous course through the redwoods. 95% of this course is what I think of as ideal single track trail running. I can see why it was sold out.
  2. That said, it’s also a tough course. Over 1000′ elevation gain over 3 miles, but mostly runnable. Cat and I switched to run/walk intervals to tackle the climb.
  3. Because of the elevation gain, and since I was still recovering from CIM, I was very glad to be doing the 10K and not the half marathon, which I ran in 2013. The 10K was the perfect amount of time to be out there, enjoying nature at its finest.
  4. Trail runners are so nice. We stopped for photos and one of our fellow runners actually stopped and offered to take a photo of the two of us.

    kep_3797

    Thanks to Let’s Wander Photography for the free race photos!

  5. The last couple of miles of the 10K had a perfect downhill grade – the kind that makes you feel like you’re flying effortlessly through the forest.
  6. Winter can be COLD, even in California. It was in the high 30s at the start of the race.
  7. If you run this race, plan to get there early. Both times I’ve run this race, there was a 30-minute line to enter the park.
  8. Beware of the post-race massage. I was charged $$ for what I thought was a free massage. Though, my legs did feel pretty good the days after the race – not sure if that was due to rest or the massage or both.
  9. I had *such* a great time with Cathryn – it was just what I needed! Getting to eat brunch with Margot and seeing Paulette and Kevin briefly was the cherry on top.

    alices-121716

    Enjoying post-race brunch at Alices

  10. I’m excited about running more trails in 2017!

 

 

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Trail running
One comment on “Race Recap: Woodside Ramble 10K
  1. […] run: I’m going to cheat and say that the Woodside Ramble 10K was the best run, even though it was technically a race as well. Cat and I didn’t really […]

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 331 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…
  • I love my sisters. They give me their honest opinions with my best interest at heart - even if it's not always the "nicest" thing. 2 hours ago
  • @emmyjane1 For me it was the grandma and whenever she did anything brave 😭 9 hours ago
  • @reallyhillary Yeah, I think I will run in my neighborhood instead of driving somewhere. Maybe run/walk if I'm not feeling great. Thanks! 1 day ago
  • I'm sick (feeling ok but congested). Should I: 1 day ago
  • RT @IjeomaOluo: Y'all. I've never tweeted anything else where so many dudes clamored up to be exhibit a https://t.co/fJGtzkRrRY 2 days ago
Archives
Categories
