More Rambling

Hi again! Thanks to those of you who commented on my last post about lack of motivation and gave me encouragement and suggestions. Upon further reflection, here’s what I’ve concluded:

  • My lack of motivation extends beyond running. I’m actually thinking that there’s something physically wrong with me (maybe low iron levels, B12, etc.?) so I’ve scheduled an appointment with doctor this week. Hope to get some answers soon.
  • I realized that I’ve put some artificial constraints on myself in regards to scheduling time to run/workout. I need to reconsider some of these self-imposed restrictions to give myself more flexibility and less stress. For instance, I’ve become so used to being a morning runner that I’m having a hard time switching over running in the afternoon. Since I’ve been so tired, I would like to sleep in, but running during the workday also means staying a bit later at work. I know I’d rather *not* stay later, but if it means getting more sleep and being less stressed about going to bed by a certain time – so be it!
  • I need to break out of my normal running routine. I’m OK with running a familiar route, but maybe I’ll run a loop counterclockwise instead of clockwise, or take some detours. On Tuesday, I turned off the autolap function on my Garmin so I don’t look at pace at all. Before each run, I’ve been asking myself, “What would make me happy or excited to do this run?” So far, the answers this week have been: run a new loop south of campus, reintroduce a bit of interval training in the form of fartleks (oh hai speed), and go out for a medium length run (instead of forcing myself to do a long run) without any expectations or goals.
  • Consider why I have certain mental blocks to things and try to remove the obstacles. So, this one is kind of random, but one barrier to me running at work is dragging all of my stuff on BART. When I look at the contents of my bag, though, it’s not a lot of stuff – just clothes and my running shoes. What I realized is that I don’t like the BAG that I use… and if it’s one thing I learned from the Konmari method, it’s that things can help or hinder you mentally/emotionally in a subconscious way (as weird as that sounds). I don’t love my messenger bag that I currently use. It does not bring me joy. It’s bulky and heavy and I don’t like the looks of it (it’s what I get for buying it on clearance). The solution to this problem is easy: buy a new bag. So, I did some exhaustive research and ordered a bag last night. Some of the other barriers (like not having a locker room or shower at my work) will continue to be a problem, but I think (hope!) the new bag will be helpful.

Something I should’ve said before is that this post and the last post are full of first world problems. Yes, if there’s something physically wrong with me, that’s definitely a real issue. However, lacking running motivation is just not that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things. That said, thanks for letting my whine about it. 🙂

About

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Posted in random
2 comments on “More Rambling
  1. Mike says:

    Hopefully your lack of motivation is a normal fleeting thing (one of life’s many ups and downs) and not tied to anything physical. But I’d agree that getting a blood workup is never a bad idea. Not being vegan, I’d be surprised if you have a B12 deficiency, but iron’s a definite possibility. I’ve been taking an iron supplement for a while now after testing consistently low for ferritin (stored iron), though honestly I wouldn’t have known without the blood chemistry numbers, since I haven’t felt a change in energy levels before or since. In any case, good call being mindful of ways to shake up your routine and inject some novelty. Hang in there, this too shall pass! 🙂

    • Jen says:

      Thanks, Mike! You’re right about B12, I really didn’t have to worry about that. It was good to get tested, since I’ve actually never had a full blood panel done before, so now at least I have some baseline numbers in my records.

Leave a Reply

Howdy! Welcome to my blog!

follow us in feedly
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

RaceRaves
On the docket…

9/17/17 – Alameda Half Marathon
10/1/17 – Tiburon Half (2:20 pacer)

Archives
Categories
